Report of the Committee on Awards for the Year ending June 30, 2014

The Committee on Awards met by teleconference on October 30, 2013 to make recommendations to the Society's Board of Directors for recipients of the 2014 Sigma Xi Society Awards.

The Committee then made the following recommendations to the Board of Directors. The nominations were approved as submitted.

- William Procter Prize for Scientific Achievement
 - Jenny Glusker professor emeritus at Fox Chase Cancer Center in Philadelphia conducting research in chemicals that cause cancer and how they work.
- John P. McGovern Science and Society Award
 - David Rosner Professor of sociomedical sciences and professor of history at Columbia University. He is co-director of the Center for the History of Public Health at Columbia's Mailman School of Public Health
- Young Investigator Award
 - Thomas Epps, III Associate Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering with a joint appointment in Materials Science at the University of Delaware.
- Walston Chubb Award for Innovation
 - Rosalind Picard Professor in the Massachusetts Institute of Technology's Media Lab, an inventor, and a leading pioneer in the field of affective computing.
- Honorary Membership
 - o **Derek Muller** Host of the YouTube science channel *Veritasium*
 - o Michael Stevens Host of the YouTube education channel Vsauce

The Society Awards and Prizes will be presented at the 2014 Sigma Xi Annual Meeting and International Research Conference in Glendale Arizona.

Details for all Sigma Xi awards can be found on the Sigma Xi website.

Nominations for Sigma Xi awards are welcomed by the Committee on Awards and can be forwarded to the Committee at the Society's administrative offices. The Committee urges that chapter leadership and regional directors take a stronger role in the coming years in nominating potential awardees. Nominations are due on October 1 each year.

Please contact Kevin Bowen at the Society's administrative offices for additional information about Sigma Xi's awards and nomination procedures.

My thanks to the 2013-2014 members of the Committee on Awards for their efforts:

Pamela Kerrigan, Paul Stein, Terry Schwaner and Julio Turrens.

Regards, Linda Mantel, chair