## Report of the Committee on Awards for the Year ending June 30, 2009

During the year ending 30 June 2009, the Committee on Awards met to make recommendations to the Society's Board of Directors in regard to recipients of Sigma Xi awards for the year beginning 1 July 2010.

A meeting of the Committee took place on 19 November 2008, during the Society's annual meeting in Washington, DC. The following recommendations were forwarded to the Board of Directors and were approved for 2009.

Dr. Deborah Jin - William Procter Prize for Scientific Achievement

Dr. David Michaels - John P. McGovern Science and Society Award

Dr. Brandt F. Eichman - Young Investigator Award

Dr. Timothy K. Phillips - Walston Chubb Award for Innovation

The Committee was also pleased to recommend for election to Honorary Membership in the Society Jamie Hyneman and Adam Savage, co-hosts of the hit TV show Mythbusters on the Discovery Channel.

The Society Awards and Prizes will be presented at the 2009 Sigma Xi Annual Meeting and International Research Conference at The Woodlands, Texas.

Details for all Sigma Xi awards can be found on the Sigma Xi web page (<a href="http://www.sigmaxi.org/programs/prizes">http://www.sigmaxi.org/programs/prizes</a>) or from local Sigma Xi chapters.

Nominations for Sigma Xi awards are welcomed by the Committee on Awards and can be forwarded to the Committee at the Society's administrative offices. The Committee urges that chapter leadership and regional directors take a stronger role in the coming years in nominating potential awardees. Nominations are due on October 1 each year.

Please contact <u>Kevin Bowen</u> at the Society's administrative offices for additional information about Sigma Xi's awards and nomination procedures.

As Chair of the Committee on Awards, I would like to thank the Directors who worked with me on the Committee. It has been a pleasure working with them and I thank them for their willingness to serve the Society as a member of the Committee.

The members of the Committee on Awards for the year ending 30 June 2009 were: Jacob "Zack" Jacobson William Klemm Linda Meadows, chair Penelope Padgett

Regards, Linda K. Meadows Awards Committee Chair