## Report of the Committee on Awards for the Year ending June 30, 2010

During the fiscal year ending 30 June 2010, the Committee on Awards met to make recommendations to the Society's Board of Directors in regard to recipients of the 2010 Sigma Xi Society Awards.

A meeting of the Committee took place by teleconference. The Committee then made the following recommendations to the Board of Directors at its meeting on November 12, 2009. The nominations were approved as submitted.

- William Procter Prize for Scientific Achievement
  - Michael J. Spivey (University of California, Merced)
- John P. McGovern Science and Society Award
  - Barbara Gastel (Texas A&M University)
- Young Investigator Award
  - Kevin R. Gurney (Purdue University)
- Walston Chubb Award for Innovation
  - Howard R. Moskowitz (Moskowitz Jacobs Inc.)

The Committee was also pleased to recommend for election to Honorary Membership in the Society Bob McDonald, hosts of the CBC Radio's *Quirks and Quarks* program.

The Society Awards and Prizes will be presented at the 2010 Sigma Xi Annual Meeting and International Research Conference in Raleigh, North Carolina.

Details for all Sigma Xi awards can be found on the Sigma Xi web page (<a href="http://www.sigmaxi.org/programs/prizes">http://www.sigmaxi.org/programs/prizes</a>) or from local Sigma Xi chapters.

Nominations for Sigma Xi awards are welcomed by the Committee on Awards and can be forwarded to the Committee at the Society's administrative offices. The Committee urges that chapter leadership and regional directors take a stronger role in the coming years in nominating potential awardees. Nominations are due on October 1 each year.

Please contact <u>Kevin Bowen</u> at the Society's administrative offices for additional information about Sigma Xi's awards and nomination procedures.

As Chair of the Committee on Awards, I would like to thank the Directors who worked with me on the Committee. It has been a pleasure working with them and I thank them for their willingness to serve the Society as a member of the Committee.

The members of the Committee on Awards for the year ending 30 June 2010 were:

Jacob "Zack" Jacobson Linda Meadows, chair Penelope Padgett Antonio Pita-Szczesniewski Andrew Velkey