Report of the Committee on Awards for the Year ending June 30, 2013

During the fiscal year ending 30 June 2013, the Committee on Awards met to make recommendations to the Society's Board of Directors in regard to recipients of the 2013 Sigma Xi Society Awards.

A meeting of the Committee took place by teleconference. The Committee then made the following recommendations to the Board of Directors at its meeting on November 2, 2012. The nominations were approved as submitted.

- William Procter Prize for Scientific Achievement
 - Rita Colwell (Chairman of Canon US Life Sciences, Inc. and Distinguished University Professor both at the University of Maryland at College Park)
- John P. McGovern Science and Society Award
 - Peter Raven (Director of the Missouri Botanical Garden and Engelmann Professor of Botany at Washington University in Saint Louis)
- Young Investigator Award
 - Michael Tobler (Oklahoma State University)
- Walston Chubb Award for Innovation
 - Chad Mirkin (Director of the International Institute for Nanotechnology and George B. Rathmann Professor of chemistry at Northwestern University)

The Society Awards and Prizes will be presented at the 2013 Sigma Xi Annual Meeting and International Research Conference in Raleigh, North Carolina.

Details for all Sigma Xi awards can be found on the Sigma Xi web page or from local Sigma Xi chapters.

Nominations for Sigma Xi awards are welcomed by the Committee on Awards and can be forwarded to the Committee at the Society's administrative offices. The Committee urges that chapter leadership and regional directors take a stronger role in the coming years in nominating potential awardees. Nominations are due on October 1 each year.

Please contact Kevin Bowen at the Society's administrative offices for additional information about Sigma Xi's awards and nomination procedures.

The members of the Committee on Awards for the year ending 30 June 2013 were:

Henry Buchtel, Pamela Kerrigan, Bertis Little, Terry Schwaner, Andrew Velkey