Report of the Committee on Grants-in-Aid of Research for the Year ending June 30, 2004

The Committee on Grants-in-Aid of Research held two very successful meetings during fiscal year 2004. During the meetings, the Committee reviewed a total of 2,433 applications, of which 639 (26%) received full or partial funding. A total of \$385,155.00 was awarded. The accompanying tables show the distribution of applications, awards, and funds among the science and engineering disciplines. The names of the recipients, their institutions, and project titles are listed on the Sigma Xi Web site.

Group	Number of Applications	Number of Awards
Male	1045 (43%)	279 (44%)
Female	1388 (57%)	360 (56%)
Graduate Students	2133 (88%)	535 (83%)
Undergraduate Students	300 (12%)	104 (17%)

The \$2 dues allocation from regular members and interest income from the Society's research endowment continues to be an essential source of support for the program. The Committee is especially grateful for the donations that have been made through the Society's annual giving campaign. Designated funds from the National Academy of Sciences, which are administered by Sigma Xi, provide valuable additional resources for the program.

The following Sigma Xi members served on the Grants-In-Aid of Research Committee during fiscal year 2004: Sue Ann Miller, Ph.D. Committee Chair - Hamilton College Erika L. Barthelmess, Ph.D. - Saint Lawrence University Emma S. Creaser, Ph.D. - Unity College Richard Dillaman, Ph.D. - University of North Carolina, Wilmington Stephen A. George Ph.D. - Amherst College

Olivia Hanson, Ph.D. - University of Central Oklahoma

Dale Hutchinson, Ph.D. - University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Catherine Jahncke, Ph.D. - Saint Lawrence University

Mark W. Martin, Ph.D. - Shell Oil Company

Linda Meadows, Ph.D. - Ohio State University

Tim Ng, Ph.D. - University of Maryland

Marian R. Wachtel, Ph.D. - National Institutes of Health

I express sincere appreciation to all of the committee for their dedicated service to the program. In addition, I would like to thank quest readers who assisted the committee in reviewing grants for fiscal year 2004:

Julia A. Clarke (North Carolina State University), Gregory P. Copenhaver (University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill), Shawn M. Ellerbroek (University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill), Jean-Louis Gariepy (University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill), Anthony E. Glenn (United States Department of Agriculture), Amy M. Grunden (North Carolina State University), Jared R. Morrow (University of Colorado), J. R. Mowat (North Carolina State University), Penelope J. Padgett (University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill), Frank E. Price (Hamilton College), and Shea R. Tuberty (Appalachian State University)

Sue Ann Miller, Ph.D Siama Xi Grants-in-Aid of Research Committee Chair