Report of the Committee on Lectureships for the Year ending June 30, 2005

I. INTRODUCTION

It is my pleasure to report that the Sigma Xi Lectureship Program continues to be one of our Society's most successful endeavors. It provides outstanding lecturers to chapters, their host institutions and offers an opportunity for outreach to the broader community interested in science while strengthening the host chapters' programmatic endeavors.

II. THE SIGMA XI DISTINGUISHED LECTURERS

The 33 Distinguished Lecturers for 2005-2006 will address subjects and issues including science, mathematics, engineering, medicine, the history of science and technology, science philosophy and education. This year the Committee is pleased to announce that, in addition to the lecturers selected by the committee, the National Academy of Engineering, the National Academy of Sciences, and the Society for Risk Analysis have each nominated speakers. Further, these organizations have provided funding to subsidize Sigma Xi chapters as they engage lecturers at local events.

The list of 2005-2006 Distinguished Lecturers, along with their brief biographies, information about lecture titles and target audiences, was included in the January-February 2005 issue of American Scientist. The Lectureship Committee is keenly aware of the need to achieve a "balanced" assemblage of lecturers. This "balance" represents an effort to address not only discipline, but geographic, gender and ethnic plurality. These additional criteria enhance our primary responsibility to offer, as lecturers, outstanding research scientists and engineers who can deliver stimulating and effective lectures to a broad audience representing a wide range of disciplines.

III. LECTURESHIP SUBSIDY PROGRAM

Sigma Xi continues to provide modest subsidies for chapters to participate in its Distinguished Lectureship Program. Since the allocation of subsidy funds available is not adequate to meet demand, the Lectureship Committee gives priority to those chapters that demonstrate the greatest need and potential to benefit from Sigma Xi support. This decision is determined from information supplied on a standard subsidy application and in Chapter reports related to previous subsidization(s). For fiscal year 2005, a total of \$ \$24,805.00 in subsidies was awarded to the following 53 chapters:

Alfred University, Army Research Laboratory, Auburn University, California State University-Northridge, Carnegie Mellon University, Central Michigan University, Charleston, Charlotte, Columbia-Willamette, Corning Incorporated, East Carolina University, East Stroudsburg University, Eastern Illinois University, Eastern New Mexico University, Fairfield University, Geneva, Gustavus Adolphus College, Hope College, Hunter College, Indiana University of Pennsylvania, Indiana-Purdue Fort Wayne, Jacksonville, Kirksville, Lamar University, Louisville, Mesa State College, Miami University-Ohio, Northern Michigan University, Quinnipiac, Ramapo College of New Jersey, Rockford College, South Dakota State University, South Texas, Southern Oregon, State University College at Plattsburgh, Syracuse, Tampa Bay, Tarleton State University, Tennessee Technological University, Tifton, University of Alberta, University of Dayton, University of Hawaii, University of Hawaii at Hilo, University of Nebraska, University of New Mexico, University of Northern Iowa, University of Puerto Rico at Mayaguez, University of South Dakota, University of Southern Mississippi, Vermont, Wabash Valley, Western Kentucky University.

IV. GUIDE FOR LECTURERS AND HOSTS

A pamphlet is available from Sigma Xi Administrative Offices that provides guidelines for both the Distinguished Lecturers and their host chapters. The guide is available on the Web site.

V. THE COMMITTEE The Lectureship Committee meets each April to review subsidy applications and to identify new Distinguished Lecturers. My sincere appreciation is expressed to the members who have/continue to serve, so ably, on this Committee. The members of the Committee for the year ending 30 June 2005 were:

David B. Campbell, National Science Foundation Kevin D. Crowley, National Academy of Sciences Jane P. Gilman Rutgers University Daryl B. Lund, University of Wisconsin-Madison Cora B. Marrett, University of Wisconsin-Madison Victor R. McCrary, Johns Hopkins University Elizabeth J. Reitz, University of Georgia

John Watson, Chair - Professor Emeritus Biochemistry, University of California-San Francisco

The Committee is very interested in comments and suggestions. Please forward your comments to the Chair of the Committee, John A. Watson or to Kevin Bowen, Manager, and Distinguished Lectureships for Sigma Xi.

Sincerely, John A. Watson Chair, Committee on Lectureships