Report of the Committee on Lectureships for the Year ending June 30, 2006

I. INTRODUCTION

It is my pleasure to report that the Sigma Xi Lectureship Program continues to be one of our Society's most successful endeavors. It provides outstanding lecturers to chapters, their host institutions and offers an opportunity for outreach to the broader community interested in science while strengthening the host chapters' programmatic endeavors.

II. THE SIGMA XI DISTINGUISHED LECTURERS

The 33 Distinguished Lecturers for 2006-2007 will address subjects and issues including science, mathematics, engineering, medicine, the history of science and technology, science philosophy and education. This year the Committee is pleased to announce that, in addition to the lecturers selected by the committee, the American Meteorological Society, the National Academy of Engineering, the National Academy of Sciences, the National Cancer Institute, and the Society for Risk Analysis have each nominated speakers. Further, these organizations have provided funding to subsidize Sigma Xi chapters as they engage lecturers at local events.

The list of 2006-2007 Distinguished Lecturers, along with their brief biographies, information about lecture titles and target audiences, was included in the January-February 2006 issue of American Scientist. The Lectureship Committee is keenly aware of the need to achieve a balanced class of lecturers in terms of discipline, geography, gender and ethnic plurality. These additional criteria enhance our primary responsibility to offer, as lecturers, outstanding research scientists and engineers who can deliver stimulating and effective lectures to a broad audience representing a wide range of disciplines.

III. LECTURESHIP SUBSIDY PROGRAM

Sigma Xi continues to provide modest subsidies for chapters to participate in its Distinguished Lectureship Program. Since the allocation of subsidy funds available is not adequate to meet demand, the Lectureship Committee gives priority to those chapters that demonstrate the greatest need and potential to benefit from Sigma Xi support. This decision is determined from information supplied on a standard subsidy application and in Chapter reports related to previous subsidization(s). For fiscal year 2006, a total of \$25,535.00 was awarded to the following 51 chapters:

Appalachian State University, Army Research Lab (ARL), California State University Northridge, Case Western Reserve University, Charleston, Columbia-Willamette, Corning Incorporated, East Carolina University, Eastern Illinois University, Eastern New Mexico University, Eckerd College, Fairfield University, Geneva, Gustavus Adolphus College, Indiana University of Pennsylvania, Indiana-Purdue Fort Wayne, Jacksonville, Kirksville, Lafayette College, Lamar University, Louisiana State University, Louisville, Loyola Marymount University, Mercer University, Miami University, Mississippi State University, Northern Michigan University, Northwestern Pennsylvania, Quinnipiac, Ramapo College, Rockford College, Rush University, South Dakota State University, Southern Appalachian, Southern Oregon, State University College at Oswego, State University College at Plattsburgh, SUNY at Purchase, Syracuse, Tarleton State University, Tifton, University of Hawaii - Manoa & - Hilo, University of Missouri - Columbia, University of Nebraska, University of New Mexico, University of Puerto Rico - Mayaguez, University of South Dakota, University of Tennessee at Martin, Vermont, Western Kentucky University, Western Washington University.

IV. GUIDE FOR LECTURERS AND HOSTS

Information is available from Sigma Xi Administrative Offices that provides guidelines for both the Distinguished Lecturers and their host chapters. The guide is available on the Web site.

V. THE COMMITTEE

The Lectureship Committee meets each April to review subsidy applications and to identify new Distinguished Lecturers. My sincere appreciation is expressed to the members who serve, so ably, on this Committee. The members of the Committee for the year ending 30 June 2006 were:

Kevin Crowley (National Academy of Sciences), Jane Gilman (Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey), Judith Herzfeld (Brandeis University), Victor McCrary (Johns Hopkins University), Willie Pearson (Georgia Institute of Technology), Elizabeth J. Reitz (University of Georgia), Refugio I. Rochin (University of California-Davis).

John Watson, Chair - Professor Emeritus Biochemistry, University of California-San Francisco

The Committee is very interested in comments and suggestions. Please forward your comments to the Chair of the Committee, John A. Watson or to Kevin Bowen, Manager, and Distinguished Lectureships for Sigma Xi.

Sincerely, John A. Watson Chair, Committee on Lectureships