Report of the Committee on Lectureships for the Year ending June 30, 2010

It is my pleasure to report that the Sigma Xi Lectureship Program continues to be one of our Society's most successful endeavors. It provides outstanding lecturers to chapters, their host institutions and offers an opportunity for outreach to the broader community interested in science. This is a report of the activities of the Committee on Lectureships from July 1, 2009 – June 30, 2010.

I. THE SIGMA XI DISTINGUISHED LECTURERS

The Committee selected 22 speakers to serve as the 2010-2011 Distinguished Lecturers. These speakers will address subjects and issues including science, mathematics, engineering, medicine, the history of science and technology, science philosophy and education. The Committee is pleased to announce that, in addition to the lecturers selected by the committee, the American Meteorological Society, the National Academy of Engineering, the National Cancer Institute, and the Society for Risk Analysis have each nominated speakers. Further, these organizations have provided funding to subsidize Sigma Xi chapters as they engage lecturers at local events.

The list of 2010-2011 Distinguished Lecturers, along with their brief biographies, information about lecture titles and target audiences, was included in the January-February 2010 issue of *American Scientist*. The Lectureship Committee is keenly aware of the need to achieve a balanced class of lecturers in terms of discipline, geography, gender and ethnic plurality. These additional criteria enhance our primary responsibility to offer, as lecturers, outstanding research scientists and engineers who can deliver stimulating and effective lectures to a broad audience representing a wide range of disciplines.

II. LECTURESHIP SUBSIDY PROGRAM

Sigma Xi continues to provide modest subsidies for chapters to participate in its Distinguished Lectureship Program. Since the allocation of subsidy funds available is not adequate to meet demand, the Lectureship Committee gives priority to those chapters that demonstrate the greatest need and potential to benefit from Sigma Xi support. For fiscal year 2010, a total of \$23,010.00 was awarded to the following 33 chapters:

Appalachian State University, Army Research Laboratory, Case Western Reserve University, Citadel, Columbia-Willamette, East Carolina University, East Stroudsburg University of Pennsylvania, Eastern Illinois University, Fairfield University, Franklin And Marshall College, Indiana University of Pennsylvania, Kirksville, Louisiana State University, Louisville, Loyola Marymount University, Mercer University, Miami University-Ohio, Northwestern Pennsylvania, Ohio State University, Rockford College, Southern Oregon, SUNY at Purchase, Syracuse, Tarleton State University, Tennessee Technological University, Tifton, University of Hawaii Manoa, University of New Mexico, University of Puerto Rico at Mayaguez, University of South Dakota, Vermont, Western Washington University, Youngstown State University

III. GUIDE FOR LECTURERS AND HOSTS

Information is available from Sigma Xi Administrative Offices that provides guidelines for both the Distinguished Lecturers and their host chapters. The guide is available on the Sigma Xi Web site.

IV. THE COMMITTEE

The Lectureship Committee meets each April to review subsidy applications and to identify new Distinguished Lecturers. My sincere appreciation is expressed to the members who serve, so ably, on this Committee. The members of the Committee for the year ending 30 June 2010 were:

Elizabeth Ambos (California State University-Long Beach), Virginia Butler (Columbia-Willamette Chapter), Marlene de la Cruz (University of California-Irvine), Judith Herzfeld (Brandeis University, Member at Large), Isiah Warner (Louisiana State University), John Watson (University of California-San Francisco)

Willie Pearson, Chair (Georgia Institute of Technology)

The Committee is very interested in comments and suggestions. Please forward your comments to <u>Kevin Bowen</u>, Program Manager for Distinguished Lectureships.

Sincerely, Dr. Willie Pearson, Jr. Chair, Committee on Lectureships