## Report of the Committee on Nominations for the Year ending June 30, 2003

The Committee on Nominations was required to select at least two nominees for the office of President-elect to be placed before the November 2003 Assembly of Delegates. The individual elected by the November 2003 Assembly for the office of President-elect would serve one year from 1 July 2004 and would then serve as President of the Society for the year beginning 1 July 2005. The Committee on Nominations met by telephone conference call to select nominees for the office of President-elect. It was understood that only full, active members of Sigma Xi could stand as nominees for office in the Society. A March 31st email reminded the Committee that nominations for the President-elect position were due by Friday, 4 April 2003. On April 8, 2003, the members of the Committee received a listing of thirteen nominees and the respective nominator (s), a record of each nominee's career achievements, and Sigma Xi participation at the local, regional, national, and international level. The nominations for President-elect were discussed during a telephone conference call on Tuesday, 15 April 2003. It was understood that within 72 hours of the conference call, the Committee would select a ranked slate of nominees. Following each ballot, the top ranked candidate was to be approached by a Society representative to determine the candidate's willingness to serve. This process was continued until two nominees agreed to stand as candidates for election at the November 2003 Annual Meeting. From the list of outstanding nominees, Lynn Margulis and Vera Alexander were selected and agreed to serve as candidates for election to the office of President-elect by the 2003 Assembly of Delegates.

The Chair would like to thank the entire Committee for their help in the Committee's work this year... you folks are fantastic. The Committee members are most grateful for the outstanding support provided by Dr. Evan Ferguson during the deliberations.

- Dr. Geraldine Williams Twitty, Chair
- Dr. Meredith Mason Garcia, Southeast Region
- Dr. John H. (Jack) Gibbons, Past President
- Dr. Peggie J. Hollingsworth, Past President
- Dr. Jerome A. Jackson, Membership-at-Large Constituency Group
- Dr. Zachary Jacobson, Canadian/International Constituency Group
- Dr. John J. Kelley, Northwest Region
- Dr. Lee A. Meserve, Research & Doctoral Universities Constituency Group
- Dr. John H. Moore, Past President
- Dr. Antonio Pita, Southwest Region
- Dr. Kathyrn A. Schubel, Baccalaureate Colleges Constituency Group
- Dr. Diana-Marie Spillman, North Central Region
- Dr. David J. Triggle, Northeast Region
- Dr. Musau Wakabongo, Area Groups, Industries, State & Federal Laboratories Constituency Group
- Dr. Kimberlyn Williams, Comprehensive Colleges & Universities Constituency Group