## Report of the Committee on Nominations for the Year ending June 30, 2004

The Committee on Nominations was required to select at least two nominees for the office of President-elect to be placed before the November 2004 Assembly of Delegates. The individual elected by the November 2004 Assembly for the office of President-elect would serve one year from 1 July 2005 and would then serve as President of the Society for the year beginning 1 July 2006. The Committee on Nominations met by telephone conference call to select nominees for the office of President-elect. It was understood that only full, active members of Sigma Xi could stand as nominees for office in the Society. A telephone call on February 9th for approximately one hour permitted the committee to discuss the mechanics of the nomination process. Members had previously received an email communication concerning the deadliness for the committee. A second telephone call on April 16th 2004 occurred to discuss the nominees whose names had previously been circulated. This circulated list included the name(s) of the nominator(s), the nominees and his/her career achievements as well as Sigma Xi participation. Each nominee was discussed in turn by the nominator and discussion followed. It was understood that within 72 hours of the conference call, the Committee would select a ranked slate of nominees. Following each ballot, the top ranked candidate was to be approached by a Society representative to determine the candidate's willingness to serve. This process was continued until two nominees agreed to stand as candidates for election at the November 2004 Annual Meeting to be held in Montreal. From the list of excellent nominees, Chris Lange of SUNY Downstate and James Baur, President of Science Solutions, Inc. were selected and agreed to serve as candidates for election to the office of President-elect by the 2004 Assembly of Delegates. Dr. Lange is a Northeast Regional Director and a member of the Board of Directors of Sigma Xi and Dr. Baur is the former Chair of the International Committee, Southwest Regional Director and is also a member of the Board of Directors.

The Chair would like to thank the entire Committee for their help in the Committee's work this year. Everyone was most dedicated and cooperative. The Committee members are most grateful for the excellent support provided by Dr. Evan Ferguson during the deliberations - you make it all seem so easy.

- Dr. David J. Triggle, Chair
- Dr. Mary Anne Fox, Past President
- Dr. John H. (Jack) Gibbons, Past President
- Dr. Peggie J. Hollingsworth, Past President
- Dr. Jerome A. Jackson, Membership-at-Large Constituency Group
- Dr. Zachary Jacobson, Canadian/International Constituency Group
- Dr. Linda Mantel, Northwest Region
- Dr. Andrew U. Meyer, Research & Doctoral Universities Constituency Group
- Dr. Antonio Pita, Southwest Region
- Dr. Kathyrn A. Schubel, Baccalaureate Colleges Constituency Group
- Dr. Diana-Marie Spillman, North Central Region
- Dr. Geraldine Twitty, Mid-Atlantic Region
- Dr. Musau Wakabongo, Area Groups, Industries, State & Federal Laboratories Constituency Group
- Dr. Ann Houston Williams, Southeast Region
- Dr. Kimberlyn Williams, Comprehensive Colleges & Universities Constituency Group
- Dr. Evan R. Ferguson, Sigma Xi Staff