About Sigma Xi Programs Meetings Member Services Chapters Giving Affiliates Resources American Scientist

About Sigma Xi » Leadership » Past Presidents » Fox

Marye Anne Fox
University of Texas, Austin, 2001-2002

North Carolina State University Chancellor Marye Anne Fox is the 2001-2002 president of Sigma Xi. A member of the National Academy of Sciences, Fox is a noted physical organic chemist whose work has application in materials science, solar energy conversion and environmental chemistry. Prior to her appointment at N.C. State, she was the Waggoner Regents Chair in Chemistry and vice president for research at the University of Texas at Austin.

Born in Canton, Ohio, in 1947, Fox received her B.S. from Notre Dame College and her Ph.D. from Dartmouth. After a postdoctoral appointment at the University of Maryland, she joined the faculty at Texas in 1976. Fox has received a number of teaching and mentoring awards throughout her career, and is active as a lecturer nationally on science education. In 1996, she received Sigma Xi's Monie A. Ferst Award from the Georgia Institute of Technology in recognition of her contributions to research through education. She also advises state and national organizations on science, technology and chemistry. She has served as co-chair of a joint National Science Foundation-National Science Board taskforce on graduate education and on National Research Council, Texas and Louisiana K-12 advisory panels. She chairs the NRC Committee on Undergraduate Science Education. Fox has served as a member of the executive committee of the National Academy of Sciences, and was vice chair of the National Science Board from 1994 to 1996. She has served on 14 editorial boards, including the Journal of the American Chemical Society.

A fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the American Association for the Advancement of Science, Fox has received the Garvan and Southwest Regional awards from the American Chemical Society and has also been honored with international research awards from Spain, Holland, Germany and Russia.

From the President - Letters in American Scientist


Back to top | Privacy Policy | Copyright ©2013. All Rights Reserved.