About Sigma Xi Programs Meetings Member Services Chapters Giving Affiliates Resources American Scientist

About Sigma Xi » News » Hawthorne Monie Ferst Award

March 1, 2004

Frederick Hawthorne Receives Monie Ferst Award

RESEARCH TRIANGLE PARK, NC--University of California at Los Angeles chemist M. Frederick Hawthorne will be honored at a symposium at UCLA this spring as the recipient of the 2003 Monie A. Ferst Award.

Presented annually by the Georgia Institute of Technology Chapter of Sigma Xi, the Ferst Award is a national honor that recognizes those who have made outstanding contributions to research through teaching and supervising graduate students.

Hawthorne was born in Fort Scott, Kansas, graduated from Pomona College and received his Ph.D. in organic chemistry at UCLA.

Following postdoctoral work at Iowa State University, he joined the Rohm and Haas Company, Redstone Arsenal Research Division in Huntsville, Alabama, as a senior research chemist.

In 1956, Hawthorne launched his career in borane cluster chemistry by organizing and leading the Organometallic Chemistry Group at Rohm and Haas,Redstone. He later served as a laboratory head with the company in Philadelphia.

In 1962, he became a full professor at the University of California, Riverside, transferring to his present position at the Los Angeles campus in 1969. In 1998 he was appointed University Professor of Chemistry.

Hawthorne is the author or co-author of more than 510 research papers, 32 patents and nine book chapters that reflect the joint efforts of approximately 200 Ph.D. students and postdoctoral associates and 11 Ph.D. co-workers at Rohm and Haas, Redstone.

His students and postdoctoral associates represent 25 different countries, and 35 of them now occupy academic positions. One of them, Anna Lee Fisher, was a space shuttle astronaut.

A member of the National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, Hawthorne has received the UCLA McCoy and Seaborg Awards for Contributions to Chemistry and numerous awards from the American Chemical Society (ACS). He is also a fellow in the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

In recognition of his seminal contributions to borane cluster chemistry, Hawthorne was the first recipient of the Boron USA Award for Distinguished Achievements in Boron Chemistry.

In 1988, he was the recipient of the ACS Award for Distinguished Service in the Advancement of Inorganic Chemistry. He has also received a Chemical Pioneer Award from the American Institute of Chemists and the Willard Gibbs Medal and the Basolo Medal from the Chicago Section of the ACS.

Hawthorne has served and continues to serve on many boards and committees associated with the National Academy of Sciences and its National Research Council.

Hawthorne serves on the editorial advisory boards of Bioconjugate Chemistry and the Bulletin of the Chemical Society of Japan. During his many years of service as editor of Inorganic Chemistry (1968-2001), the journal grew into a biweekly publication with an unsurpassed international reputation.

Sigma Xi's Monie A. Ferst Award is named for an outstanding engineer and businessman who was a graduate of Georgia Tech.


Back to top | Privacy Policy | Copyright ©2013. All Rights Reserved.