About Sigma Xi Programs Meetings Member Services Chapters Giving Affiliates Resources American Scientist

About Sigma Xi » News » Gary Hieftje Receives Monie Ferst Award

January 11, 2005

Gary Hieftje Receives Monie Ferst Award

RESEARCH TRIANGLE PARK, NC — Distinguished analytical chemist Gary M. Hieftje at Indiana University, Bloomington received the 2004 Monie A. Ferst Award, which recognizes those who have made notable contributions to motivation and encouragement of research through education.

Administered by the Georgia Institute of Technology Chapter of Sigma Xi, the award is made annually to a person who has touched and inspired his or her research colleagues in a manner that can be documented by their subsequent scientific accomplishments.

Hieftje's contributions to the field of analytical chemistry encompass the training of excellent students, the production of texts and scholarly books, the performance of fundamental research to characterize the field and the development of new techniques and instrumentation.

These activities have yielded more than 450 publications, 10 books, many text chapters and a number of patents. Over 100 post-doctoral associates and graduate students have trained under his direction.

Hieftje is perhaps best recognized for his work in chemical instrumentation and atomic spectrometry. His group has long been active in the study of events that lead to atom formation, excitation and ionization in flames and high-frequency plasmas and in the development of new kinds of plasma sources, sample-introduction devices, and both optical and mass spectrometers.

He is widely known for his invention of a method for background correction in atomic-absorption spectrometry and for the coupling of time-of-flight mass spectrometry to atomic ion sources.

Several national and international awards, including the American Chemical Society Award in Analytical Chemistry, have already recognized Hieftje's contributions. He is only the fourth person ever to win both awards offered by the sponsoring organizations of the Pittsburgh Conference: the Pittsburgh Analytical Chemistry Award (1986) and the Pittsburgh Spectroscopy Award (2001).

In addition, Hieftje was chosen as the 2000 Speaker of the Year by Indiana Academy of Science and, more recently, was the recipient of the 2004-05 Distinguished Faculty Research Lecturer Award.

Hieftje received an A.B. degree from Hope College 1964 and a Ph.D. from the University of Illinois in 1969, the same year he was inducted into Sigma Xi. He then joined the faculty at Indiana University as an assistant professor of chemistry. He became a full professor in 1977 and was named a Distinguished Professor in 1985. He currently holds the Robert and Marjorie Mann Chair in Chemistry.


Back to top | Privacy Policy | Copyright ©2013. All Rights Reserved.