About Sigma Xi Programs Meetings Member Services Chapters Giving Affiliates Resources American Scientist
   Nebraska, University of Chapter

University of Nebraska Chapter 2004 Award Winners

The UNL Chapter of Sigma Xi, the research honorary society, has announced the winners of its 2004 awards for outstanding research, for outstanding support of research, and for outstanding science teaching. Seven individuals were honored this year, including three UNL faculty members, two UNL graduate students, one UNL staff member, and one high school science teacher. The award winners were recognized at Sigma Xi’s annual Awards and Initiation Banquet on Tuesday, 27 April 2004.

  • Reuben D. Rieke, Ameritas University Professor of Chemistry, was selected for the Outstanding Scientist Award "for the discovery and development of procedures for preparing active metals, known as 'Rieke Metals,' and for investigations of the new chemistry these active metals have made possible."
  • Bernard Doudin, Associate Professor of Physics and Astronomy, and Xiao Cheng Zeng, Willa Cather Professor of Chemistry, were selected for Outstanding Young Scientist Awards. Doudin was cited "for investigations of the novel magnetic and transport properties of nanostructured nanowires and nanocontacts. Zeng was cited "for the discovery and investigation of novel forms of water existing within confined spaces as well as for the discovery of the novel, metal-like properties of nanometer-sized silicon tubes."
  • Hae-Kyung Jeong and Cheol-Soo Yang, who are graduate students in the Department of Physics and Astronomy, were selected for Outstanding Graduate Student Awards. Jeong was cited "for very high research productivity, for outstanding thesis research on electron-phonon coupling in local moment systems, and for the design and construction of a spin-polarized electron energy loss spectrometer." Yang was cited "for perseverance, enthusiasm, and scientific integrity in obtaining novel research results on the electrical properties of metallic contacts comprising only a few atoms."
  • Shelli Krupicka was selected for the Support of Research Award. She was cited "for outstanding, efficient, and intelligent work since 1990 as Administrative Coordinator for the University of Nebraska Center for Materials Research and Analysis."
  • Robert D. Curtright was selected for the Outstanding High School Science Teacher Award. He was cited “for outstanding expertise, dedication, and professionalism as both a science teacher and department chair at Lincoln Northeast High School as well as for the development of many innovative methods for teaching science.”
The Sigma Xi 2004 Award Selection Committee was chaired by Merlin P. Lawson, Professor of Geosciences and former Dean of Graduate Studies. Other members of the Committee were: Z. B. Mayo, Head of the Department of Entomology; Anthony F. Starace, George Holmes University Professor of Physics; and James L. Van Etten, William B. Allington University Professor of Plant Pathology.

Sigma Xi is an international research society whose programs and activities promote the health of the scientific enterprise and honor scientific achievement. There are nearly 70,000 Sigma Xi members in over 500 chapters at colleges and universities, industrial research centers and government laboratories. The University of Nebraska Chapter was organized in 1897.

Download a PDF of this information.

Return to Awards


Back to top | Privacy Policy | Copyright ©2013. All Rights Reserved.