About Sigma Xi Programs Meetings Member Services Chapters Giving Affiliates Resources American Scientist
   Nebraska, University of Chapter

University of Nebraska Chapter 2007 Award Winners

The UNL Chapter of Sigma Xi, the science and engineering honorary society, has announced the winners of its 2007 awards for outstanding researchers, outstanding science librarian, outstanding graduate students and for outstanding research support. Six individuals were honored this year, including three UNL faculty, two UNL graduate students and a UNL staff member. The award winners were recognized at Sigma Xiís Annual Awards and Initiation Banquet on Thursday, April 26, 2007 at Chez-Hay, 210 North 14th Street.

Yuris Dzenis, Professor, Department of Engineering Mechanics was selected for the Outstanding Scientist Award for his international recognition as a leader on the practice and theory of nanotube/nanofiber synthesis. He presented a brief after-dinner talk at the Sigma Xi Banquet on his development of the spinning technique he has developed for use in nanofiber production.

Christian Binek, Assistant Professor of Physics was selected for the Outstanding Young Scientist Award. He is being cited for setting a first-class laboratory to fabricate magnetic thin films and novel magnetic heterostructures with an emphasis on finding new and clever ways of controlling the exchange bias phenomenon in magnetic structures.

Dana W. Boden, Associate Professor & Liaison Librarian with the University Libraries at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln was selected for the Outstanding Science Librarian Award. Dr. Boden is based at the C.Y. Thompson Library and was cited for exceptional effort in developing and extending agricultural and biological sciences library resources to students, faculty and the general public.

Danquin Feng, in the Department of Physics and Astronomy and Chris Schwartz in the Department of Chemistry were selected for Outstanding Graduate Student Awards. Ms Feng was cited "for high research productivity to fundamental understanding of polymer device electronics" and Mr Schwartz was cited "for major research achievements in the area of oxidation chemistry."

Mitchell Montgomery, from the Department of Agronomy and Horticulture, will receive an award for Outstanding Support of Research. Mitch is a research technologist cited for dedicated, efficient, and careful work in support of fundamental research on the use of molecular markers in applied plant breeding.

The Sigma Xi 2007 Award Selection Committee was chaired by Jack Morris, Professor of Biological Sciences. Other members of the committee were: Z B Mayo, Interim Associate Dean and Director of the UNL Agricultural Research Division; Anthony F. Starace, George Holmes University Professor of Physics, and James L. Van Etten, William B. Allington University Professor of Plant Pathology.

Return to Awards


Back to top | Privacy Policy | Copyright ©2013. All Rights Reserved.