About Sigma Xi Programs Meetings Member Services Chapters Giving Affiliates Resources American Scientist
   Nebraska, University of Chapter

University of Nebraska 2009 Award Winners

The UNL Chapter of Sigma Xi, the science and engineering honorary society, has announced the winners of its 2009 awards for outstanding researchers, outstanding graduate student, outstanding high school science teacher and outstanding support of research. The five recipients being honored this year are listed below. The award winners were recognized at Sigma Xiís Annual Awards and Initiation Banquet on Thursday, April 23, 2009 at the Nebraska City Campus Union.

Dr. Rick Bevins, Professor, Department of Psychology has been selected for the Outstanding Scientist Award for international recognition as a leader in research excellence bridging the areas of psychology, psychopharmacology, behavioral neuroscience and immunlogy. He will present a brief after-dinner talk at the Sigma Xi Banquet on his many innovative contributions to understanding acquired environment-drug associations, acquired motivation and choice behavior, drugs as conditioning clues and immunotherapies for nicotine addiction.

Dr. David Carter, Assistant Professor, Department of Entomology, has been selected for the Outstanding Young Scientist Award. He is being cited for his excellent research contributions in forensic taphonomy and his outstanding contributions to forensic science education.

John Shiel, Department of Chemistry, was selected for the Outstanding Graduate Student Award. Mr. Shiel was cited for developing an ultrafast immunoextraction procedure and use of high performance affinity chromatography for measuring pharmacological compounds, hormones and the kinetics of protein-hormone binding.

Alan Dappen was selected for the Outstanding High School Science Teacher Award. He teaches physics and was cited for his dedication to preparing all students by helping them achieve a firm grasp on mathematical skills through creating an environment of excellence through inspiration and creativity.

LI-COR Biosciences, Inc., Lincoln, Nebraska was selected for the Support of Research Award. LI-COR is a manufacturer of instrumentation systems for environmental research, plant physiology, analytical genetics and biotechnology applications. Their instrumentation has contributed significantly to climate change research in which carbon and carbon dioxide flux is measured at several scales, to measuring evapotranspiration from vegetative surfaces, and to enhance undergraduate education.

The Sigma Xi 2009 Award Selection Committee was chaired by Don H. Beermann, Professor of Animal Science, Office of Research Responsibility. Members of the committee were: John Osterman, Professor of Biological Sciences, Anthony F. Starace, George Holmes University Professor of Physics, Erin Blankenship, Professor of Statistics, T. Jack Morris, Professor of Biological Sciences, and David Woodman, Professor of Practice, School of Biological Sciences.

At the annual banquet, the winners of the 2009 Graduate Student Research Poster Competition, held on April 15 as part of the 2009 UNL Research Fair, will also be honored. Winning posters will be on display throughout the evening.

Sigma Xi is an international honorary scientific research society whose programs and activities promote the health of the scientific enterprise and honor scientific achievement. There are nearly 60,000 Sigma Xi members in over 500 chapters at colleges and universities, industrial research centers and government laboratories. The University of Nebraska Chapter was organized in 1897. For further information on the UNL Chapter, see its web page: www.sigmaxi.org/chapters/web/Nebraska.

For further information on Sigma Xiís Awards and Initiation Banquet on April 23rd, please contact Don Beermann, Sigma Xi President: dbeermann2@unl.edu or Erin Blankenship, Sigma Xi Secretary: eblankenship2@unl.edu.

Return to Awards


Back to top | Privacy Policy | Copyright ©2013. All Rights Reserved.