About Sigma Xi Programs Meetings Member Services Chapters Giving Affiliates Resources American Scientist
   Nebraska, University of Chapter

Events for the Nebraska, University of Chapter

Annual Banquet and Awards Ceremony
This year’s annual Sigma Xi Awards banquet was held April 23, 2009 in the UNL City Campus Union. Outgoing president Don H. Beermann outlined the purpose of the society and activities of the local chapter for the past year. Sixteen new initiates were welcomed into the 007 Chapter, including Dr. Paul Black, Dr. Aaron Dominguez, Dr. Axel Enders, Dr. Galen Erickson, Dr. Steven Harris, Mr. Ajay Kumar, Dr. Rodney Moxley, Ms. Paula Ritter-Gooder, Dr. Zhandos Utegulov, and Dr. Brian Waters as full members and Ms. Amy Miller, Mr. Kentaro Miwa, Ms. Dori Porter, Mr. William Rittenour, Ms. Adrienne Roehrich, and Mr. John Schiel as associate members.

This year’s outstanding research award winner, Dr. Rick Bevins, professor of Psychology, presented a captivating seminar on acquired environment-drug associations, acquired motivation and choice behavior, drugs as conditioning clues and immunotherapies for nicotine addiction. Dr. David Carter, Assistant Professor, Department of Entomology, was selected for the Outstanding Young Scientist Award. John Shiel, Department of Chemistry, was selected for the Outstanding Graduate Student Award. Alan Dappen, physics teacher at Omaha North Magnet School was selected for the Outstanding High School Science Teacher Award, and LI-COR Biosciences, Inc., Lincoln, Nebraska was selected for the Support of Research Award.

Some 70 members enjoyed the conversation and viewed 17 posters of graduate student research competition winners.


Back to top | Privacy Policy | Copyright ©2013. All Rights Reserved.