About Sigma Xi Programs Meetings Member Services Chapters Giving Affiliates Resources American Scientist
   Vanderbilt Chapter

The History of the Vanderbilt Chapter

Welcome to the Vanderbilt University Chapter of Sigma Xi, the international science and engineering honor society! The Vanderbilt chapter, which was founded in 1944, is made up of over 200 active members. Our members range from undergraduate students who show scientific promise to professional scientists at Vanderbilt and in the area. Both of Vanderbiltís Nobel Laureates, Earl Sutherland and Stanley Cohen, were Sigma Xi members.

Since its founding at Cornell University in 1886, Sigma Xi has been unique in promoting a spirit of cooperation among researchers in every field of science and technology. This broad outlook has never been more relevant than it is today when many of the significant scientific advances depend on interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary collaborations. This approach to science is one of the hallmarks and great strengths of Vanderbilt University. The primary objective of the Vanderbilt Chapter of Sigma Xi is to encourage interactions among our diverse members. Such interactions often lead to a better understanding of each otherís research and open windows to collaborative scientific efforts that otherwise may not have occurred.

All members are encouraged to provide feedback on ways that the Vanderbilt Chapter can be more relevant. Suggestions for programs that may be of interest and benefit to you, your colleagues, or your students are greatly welcomed. Our chapter is always looking for members who are willing to volunteer their time and energy to promote Sigma Xi and its initiatives. We are also actively seeking members who are willing to serve as Chapter officers and committee members.

Please visit the national Sigma Xi website at www.sigmaxi.org to find information concerning the Grants-in-Aid of Research program, criteria for nominating new members, and other matters of interest.


Back to top | Privacy Policy | Copyright ©2013. All Rights Reserved.