About Sigma Xi Programs Meetings Member Services Chapters Giving Affiliates Resources American Scientist
   Massachusetts-Lowell, University of Chapter

2003 Annual Banquet - Wednesday, May 7, 2003

The Annual Banquet of the UMass Lowell chapter of the Society of the Sigma Xi took place on Wednesday evening, May 7, 2003 in the MIL Conference Room in the Wannalancit Mills building of the University. The banquet was attended by about 65 members and their guests. The event went flawlessly, as usual, due to the competent and artistic capabilities of the chapter’s Administrative Assistant, Elizabeth Fortin. The highlight of the event (aside from the camaraderie and the food) was the lecture: "Magick, Mavericks, Heretics, and Harlots: The Marvelous History of Mathematics and Science” by Dr. Cathy Cobb, Adjunct Professor of Chemistry, University of South Carolina, Aiken.


Officers of the UMass Lowell chapter of the Society of Sigma Xi with Banquet speaker, Dr. Cathy Cobb, Adjunct Professor of Chemistry, University of South Carolina, Aiken. Seated, from the left: Dr. Cathy Cobb; Dr. Mary Elizabeth Hooker, At-Large, Health Professions. Standing, from the left: Dr. Art Mittler, Treasurer; Dr. Gil Brown, At-Large, Engineering; Dr. Robert Tamarin, President of the UMass Lowell local chapter; Dr. Robert Gamache, Vice President; Dr. Aram Karakashian, Awards Officer; and Dr. Jim Whitten, Secretary.

Graduate Research Scholar Award for 2003


Dr. Robert Tamarin (right), President of the UMass Lowell chapter of the Society of Sigma Xi, presents the 2003 Graduate Research Scholar Award to Xianyan Wang, a graduate student in Polymer Science. Ms Wang was voted the most outstanding doctoral candidate of the year by the Deans of the University.

Professor Charlie Steele Memorial Scholarship for 2003


Mrs. Charlie Steele (right), widow of Professor Steele, a former member of the Computer Science Department, presents the Professor Charlie Steele Memorial Scholarship to Ms Jung-Rim Hyun (left) of Computer Sciences. The awardee is an international graduate student, chosen by faculty members from Computer Science, Mathematics, and Electrical and Computer Engineering.

2003 Induction of New Members


Dr. Jim Whitten, Secretary of the UMass Lowell chapter of the Society of Sigma Xi, with new members at the annual banquet. From the left: Christopher Drew (Polymer Science); Miroslava Raspopovic (Electrical and Computer Engineering); Xianyan Wang (Polymer Science); Dr. Herbert Fox (Physics); Whitten; Kassiani Kotsidou (Electrical and Computer Engineering); Hark-Sang Kim (Electrical and Computer Engineering); and Heejoon Ahn (Chemistry).

C. Daniel Cole Student Research Award

Past First Prize Winners:
2001-2002 Jonathan Fischer, Chemistry
2000-01 Michelle Brosca, Biological Sciences
1999-00 Natasha Thorne, Biological Sciences
1998-99 Christine Daudelin, Chemistry
1997-98 Monica A. Rixman, Chemistry
1996-97 Christine Romano, Clinical Laboratory Sciences
1995-96 Joyce L. Wing, Biological Sciences
1994-95 John Boyce, Biological Sciences
1993-94 Craig E. Masse, Chemistry
1992-93 Kathleen Courtemanche, Clinical Laboratory Sciences
1991-92 Daniel Gebow, Biological Sciences
1990-91 Jennifer Sullivan, Biological Sciences
1989-90 Talal Sabrah, Clinical Laboratory Sciences
1988-89 Christopher Ianelli, Biological Sciences
1987-88 Thomas F. DeLorey, Nuclear Engineering
1986-87 Achal N. Thakkar, Plastics Engineering/Chemistry
1985-86 Sharlene Adams, Biological Sciences

Stay tuned for information about the 2004 awards competition and the 2004 Banquet.

Return to Past Events


Back to top | Privacy Policy | Copyright ©2013. All Rights Reserved.