About Sigma Xi Programs Meetings Member Services Chapters Giving Affiliates Resources American Scientist
   Massachusetts-Lowell, University of Chapter

2011 Banquet

University of Massachusetts - Lowell Chapter of Sigma Xi Local Events

2011 Annual Sigma Xi Banquet

Tuesday, 3 May 2011

Officers of the Local Chapter

Officers of the UMass Lowell chapter of the Society of Sigma Xi with Banquet speaker, Dr. Lawrence J. Wangh. From the left (seated): Ms Elizabeth Fortin, Chapter Administrative Assistant; Dr. Jessica Garb, At-Large, Biology; Dr. Mary Elizabeth Hooker At-Large, Health Professions. From the left (standing): Dr. Bob Tamarin, President; Dr. Bob Kunzendorf, At-Large, Psychology, Dr. Wangh; Dr. Art Mittler, Treasurer; Dr. Aram Karakashian, Emeritus Awards Officer; Dr. Bob Gamache, Vice President; and Dr. Jim Whitten, Secretary

The Venue

The banquet took place in our new UMass Lowell Inn and Conference Center.


High School Teacher of the Year

The UMass Lowell chapter initiated the High School Teacher of the Year Award in 2004 to honor an outstanding high school science or math teacher, one responsible for instilling in students an excitement about the sciences and technology. The 2011 awardee is Judi Nazro of Londonderry High School in Londonderry, New Hampshire. On the left, Judi accepts the award certificate from Bob Tamarin, local chapter president. With Judi are friends, colleagues, and relatives.

Graduate Research Scholar Award

This year, the candidates for the award in the Sciences were so outstanding that two awards were made. With local chapter President Bob Tamarin is (top) Abhishek Kumar (Physics with Prof. Jayant Kumar) and (bottom) Munjal Desai (Computer Science, with Prof. Holly Yanco). Each awardee received a certificate and a check for $1,000.


Prof. Charlie Steele Memorial Scholarship

The Professor Charlie Steele Memorial Scholarship awardee, Simone Hill (Computer Science), with Bob Tamarin, Chapter President.

Faculty Award for the Advancement of Teaching and Learning in the Sciences

This award was created by Sciences Advisory Board member Susan Pasquale and her husband, Ron Boudreau, both pictured above on the right with the awardee, Dr. Holly Yanco of Computer Science. Dr. Yanco is receiving her award from Dr. Bob Tamarin, local Chapter President. The award is designed to reward the scholarship of teaching.


Induction of New Members

New members of Sigma Xi are shown above. From the left, seated: Sara Dunaj, Biology (Associate); Ambika Bhatta, Electrical and Computer Engineering (Associate); Katherine Aho, Electrical and Computer Engineering (Associate); Jenny Au, Electrical and Computer Engineering (Associate). From the left, standing: Dr. Jim Whitten, local chapter Secretary; Megha Sunny, Electrical and Computer Engineering, (Associate); Dr. Shivishankar Vangala, Physics (Full); Dr. Xifeng Aian, Physics (Full); Dr. Mahdi Garelnabi, Clinical Laboratory and Nutritional Sciences (Full); Dr. Jessica Garb, Biology (Full); Dr. Sebahattin Eker, Electrical and Computer Engineering (Full); Dr. Bob Tamarin, local chapter President.


Guest Lecture

Our Banquet Speaker this year was Dr. Lawrence J. Wangh, Sigma Xi Distinguished Lecturer and Professor of Biology at Brandeis University, Waltham, Massachusetts. The title of his talk was:

"New PCR Chemistries Yield New Diagnostic Assays for Tuberculosis and Many Other Diseases"


Special thanks to our Administrator, Ms Elizabeth Fortin, for making all the arrangements for our Banquet.

Check back in the fall for information about the 2011-2012 awards competitions and the 2012 Banquet.


Return to Past Events


Back to top | Privacy Policy | Copyright ©2013. All Rights Reserved.