Meetings » Annual Meeting & IRC » Student Information

2011 Sigma Xi Annual Meeting & International Research Conference

November 11-12, 2011
Raleigh Convention Center
Raleigh, North Carolina


The 2011 Student Research Conference was attended by more than 300 students presenting 277 research posters.  Students represented more than 100 academic institutions from across North America and abroad.

All presenting students received a certificate of presentation.  In addition,  undergraduate, graduate and doctoral students who received an overall rating of Good or better were invited to join Sigma Xi as Associate Members of the Society

The following students received overall ratings of superior and will receive a commemmerative Student Research Conference Medal recoginzing this achievement.

Awards for the Graduate and Doctoral Candidate Division

Behavioral Sciences

John Hernandez and Katie Adams - Texas A&M University - Corpus Christi

Biochemistry, Physiology and Immunology

Samantha Furr - University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Cellular & Molecular Biology

Matti Asuma - University of Wisconsin - Madison

Huiying Lu - North Carolina State University


Jessica Bongiovanni - University of North Carolina Charlotte

Ecology & Evolutionary Biology

Luanna Prevost - University of Georgia


Eric Forrest - Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Andrew Loebl - North Carolina State University

Environmental and Geo-Sciences

Kelly Smith - University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Interdisciplinary Research

Vikrant Dutta - North Carolina State University

Seth Ebersviller - University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Math, Computer Science, Physics and Astronomy

Farzad Sadjadi - University of Minnesota


Awards for the Undergraduate Division

Behavioral Sciences

Dario Figueroa - University of California, Irvine

Seva Khambadkona - The Ohio State University

Biochemistry, Physiology and Immunology

Catherine Fick - Oakland University

Sarah Lieser - Viterbo University

Cellular and Molecular Biology

Nicole Anayannis - SUNY Purchase

Myurajan Rubaharan - George Mason University

Alvin Shi - Duke University

Jennifer Yonan - University of California, Irvine


Anthony Prosser - University of Kansas

Ecology & Evolutionary Biology

Kristina Bonaparte - University of California, Irvine


An Truong - North Carolina State University

Environmental and Geo-Sciences

Lauren Marston - North Carolina State University

Interdisciplinary Research

Emma Babb - Duke University

Gino Graziano - Santa Barbara City College

Math and Computer Science

Christine Sawyer - Santa Barbara City College

Physics and Astronomy

Alex Garner - University of Florida


Awards for the High School Division

Interdisciplinary Research including Behavioral Sciences

Givi Basishvilli - Harlem Children Society

Biochemistry, Physiology & Immunology

Angela Zhang - North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics

Kimberly Clark - Josephine Dobbs Clement Early College High School

Cellular & Molecular Biology

William Su - North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics


Taylor Adair - William G. Enloe High School

Joseph Moo-Young and Nick Liu - North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics

Ecology & Evolutionary Biology and Environmental Science

Yun Tang - North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics

Math, Computer Science, Physics, Astronomy and Engineering

Melissa Chan - William G. Enloe High School