About Sigma Xi Programs Meetings Member Services Chapters Giving Affiliates Resources American Scientist
   Annual Meeting &
   International Research

Meetings » Archive » Past Annual Meetings » 2005

Westin Seattle Hotel
Seattle, Washington

Each November, Sigma Xi leaders and highly motivated undergraduate students gather to network with one another at the Sigma Xi Annual Meeting and Student Research Conference. Delegates from Sigma Xi chapters attend workshops on leadership, major issues facing the research enterprise and chapter management. Simultaneously, undergraduates from over one hundred institutions around the world present their research, attend career-focused workshops, meet graduate school recruiters and network with Sigma Xi members.

Delegate Information

The Student Research Conference showcases some of the premier student research in the world, and connects senior researchers with students. (November 4-5, 2005)

Workshops offer time for exchange of ideas and advice, discussion of issues impacting the research enterprise and supporting the business of the Society.

Networking Activities and Social Events include discussion groups, roundtables, social events and judging sessions, all of which offer opportunities for networking as researchers, leaders and colleagues.

Multidisciplinary Research presentations by members and several talks by Sigma Xi prize winners showcase outstanding researchers and science communicators.

Program information appears in a 'program at a glance' format.

Featured guests include:

William Procter Prize for Scientific Achievement
Bjarne Stroustrup, Renowned Texas A&M University computer scientist and inventor of C++ programming language.

John P. McGovern Science and Society Award
Sylvia Earle, Celebrated oceanographer and Time magazine’s first "hero for the planet," Executive Director of Marine Programs for Conservation International, Program Coordinator at the Harte Research Institute for Gulf of Mexico Studies at Texas A&M Corpus Christi and Chair of Deep Ocean Exploration.

Young Investigator Award
Thomas Spencer, Reproductive endocrinology, Center for Animal Biotechnology and Genomics, Department of Animal Science. Texas A&M University.

Honorary Members
Ira Flatow, Host of NPR’s Talk of The Nation: Science Friday®.
David Quammen, National Magazine Award winning science and nature writer.

E-mail: meeting@sigmaxi.org


Back to top | Privacy Policy | Copyright ©2013. All Rights Reserved.