About Sigma Xi Programs Meetings Member Services Chapters Giving Affiliates Resources American Scientist
   Annual Meeting &
   International Research

Meetings » Archive » Past Annual Meetings » 2008

November 20-23, 2008
Marriott Renaissance Hotel
Washington, D.C.

Listen to the Awards Lectures from the 2008 Annual Meeting

  • Conference Program

  • Children's Day of Science
    • At the 2008 Sigma Xi Annual Meeting, we extended the outreach of science even farther by inviting 100 local elementary school students and their teachers for "a hands-on day of science."

  • Society Business
    • Assemblies and Caucuses provide essential time for chapter delegates to discuss issues impacting the research enterprise and to vote on matters of Society business.

  • Research Presentations
    • Student Research Conference showcases some of the premier student research in the world, and connects senior researchers with students. (November 21-22, 2008)
    • Science Sessions maintain Sigma Xi's mission to enhance the health of the research enterprise and to promote public engagement in science. Formats include workshop, seminar, panel, roundtable and lecture

  • Networking and Social Activities include informal roundtables, poster presentations, organized group dining and catered receptions—all of which offer opportunities for collegial exchange as researchers, leaders and colleagues.

Featured guests include:

William Procter Prize for Scientific Achievement
Charles Elachi, Director of the Jet Propulsion Laboratory and Vice President, California Institute of Technology
John P. McGovern Science and Society Award
Robert Boily, President and founder of Inforex
Walston Chubb Award for Innovation
Patrick Usoro, Technical Fellow at the General Motors R&D Center
Young Investigator Award
Mason Porter, University of Oxford faculty member in applied mathematics and a Tutorial Fellow at Somerville College in Oxford.
Honorary Members
Natalie Angier, The New York Times
Sherwood "Sherry" Boehlert, former Congressman and chair of the House Science Committee

E-mail: meeting@sigmaxi.org


Back to top | Privacy Policy | Copyright ©2013. All Rights Reserved.