Sigma Xi Members in the News

April 2016

Sigma Xi member George Maul of Florida Institute of Technology, has received the 2016 medal from Florida Academy of Sciences for being a voice for science. 

Member Kip Thorne has been named one of TIME's 100 Most Influential People for his work on the Laser Interferometer Gravitational-Waves Observatory (LIGO). 

Sigma Xi's Canadian/International Constituency Director Richard Boudreault will be awarded the 2016 Medal for Outstanding Achievement in Applied Photonics from the Canadian Association of Physicists and the Institut National d'Optique.

Member Jamie Vernon, Sigma Xi’s director of science communications and publications, and editor-in-chief of the Society’s magazine, American Scientist,  has joined the program board for the World Communication Forum. The program board is in charge of preparations for the 8th annual forum, which will take place March 9–10, 2017, in Davos, Switzerland. The goal of the forum is to strengthen the impact of communications that foster the global development of the world. 

February 2016

The Board of Trustees of The Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation is pleased to announce that John F. Mateja has been selected as the next President of the Foundation. With formal approval by the Executive Office of the President of the United States, Dr. Mateja becomes only the third person to hold the position in the Foundation’s 30-year history. The Goldwater Scholarship, considered by many to be the premier undergraduate scholarship of its kind in the nation, making scholarship awards of up to $7,500 to sophomores and juniors who intend to pursue research careers in the natural sciences, mathematics and engineering.

Erin O'Shea has been named the sixth president, and first female president, of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute. Currently, she is HHMI’s vice president and chief scientific officer.

Christine Ortiz is featured in The Chronicle of Higher Education for taking a leave from her post as a professor and dean at Massachusetts Institute of Technology to start a new type of university. 

January 2016

Ninety-one Sigma Xi members are included in the 2015 class of AAAS fellows. 

Timothy Burg has been named director of University of Georgia's Office of STEM Education.

Donna Nelson has been elected as the 2016 president of the American Chemical Society. She is a professor in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry at the University of Oklahoma. She was a keynote speaker at Sigma Xi's 2014 Annual Meeting, where she shared her experience of being the science advisor to the TV show Breaking Bad

Trudy F. C. Mackay of the Department of Biological Sciences at North Carolina State University has been selected for the 2016 Wolf Prize in Agriculture

Susan Lindquist, a professor in the biology department at Massachusetts Institute of Technology and recipient of the National Medal of Science, is profiled in The Scientist article, "Fearless About Folding." They also promoted a video about her research on protein folding. 

Sigma Xi Members in the News for May 2014 

BrendaMilner_forwebDr. Brenda Milner of Montreal Neurological Institute, McGill University, in Canada is a winner of the Kavli Prize in Neuroscience for the discovery of specialized brain networks for memory and cognition. Dr. Milner has been a Sigma Xi member since 1952. The Kavli Prize recognizes scientists for their seminal advances in astrophysics, nanoscience, and neuroscience.

More on the 2014 Kavli Prize winners

More on Dr. Milner

Photo credit: Meera Paleja

Sigma Xi Members in the News for April 2014 

Sigma Xi members Norman R. Augustine, former chairman and CEO of Lockheed Martin, and Shirley Ann Jackson, president of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, are among four award winners recognized April 25 for the U.S. News STEM Leadership Hall of Fame. Read more here

Sigma Xi Members in the News for March 2014

The journal Fuel: The Science and Technology of Fuel and Energy has published a special issue in honor of a Sigma Xi member, E.J. "Ben" Anthony (SX 1994). Dr. Anthony is a reader in energy processes for the Environmental Science and Technology Department at Cranfield University in the United Kingdom.

Sigma Xi Members in the News for February 2014

Norman Bucknor (SX 1992) received the Research Leadership Award at the Black Engineer of the Year Awards STEM Conference, held February 6-8, 2014, in Washington, DC. Dr. Bucknor is a staff researcher at General Motors Global Research and Development.

Stephen J. Morewitz (SX 2000), PhD, has founded the Forensic Social Sciences Association (FSSA) in San Francisco, CA. The FSSA is dedicated to advancing forensic social sciences training, research, and practice.

Joel K. Kearns (SX1985) has been appointed deputy director of the Space Flight Systems Division at NASA Glenn Research Center in Cleveland, Ohio. He leaves SunEdison Incorporated (formerly MEMC Electronic Materials) where he was vice president and director for solar wafer R&D since 2010.

Sigma Xi Members in the News for January 2014

Joel K. Kearns (SX1985) has been appointed deputy director of the Space Flight Systems Division at NASA Glenn Research Center in Cleveland, Ohio. He leaves SunEdison Incorporated (formerly MEMC Electronic Materials) where he was vice president and director for solar wafer R&D since 2010.

Associate member Ali Baghchehsara (SX 2013) has co-authored with Danny Royce Jones the book "Electric Space: Space-Based Solar Power Technologies & Applications" (CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform, 2013). Baghchehsara is an aerospace engineering student at Karaj Payam Noor University in Iran. He also founded and led an aerospace association in Alborz Province. With hopes of becoming a NASA astronaut, his focus is on aerospace development in the areas of engine design and space-based solar power..