Prizes and Awards

ProcterAwardSigma Xi awards recognize achievement in science or engineering research and communication.

Honorees have includes such varied individuals as Jane Goodall, Vannevar Bush, Margaret Mead, Sylvia Earle, E.O. Wilson, Robert Ballard, Bill Kurtis, Claudia Dreifus, Al Gore and more.

Nominations for Sigma Xi Awards are due January 31. Click on the individual award or prize pages below for more information about nomination criteria.

Gold Key Award

The Gold Key Award is the highest honor bestowed by Sigma Xi. It is presented to a member who has made extraordinary contributions to his or her profession and has fostered critical innovations to enhance the health of the research enterprise, to cultivate integrity in research, or to promote the public understanding of science, for the purpose of improving the human condition.

William Procter Prize

The William Procter Prize for Scientific Achievement is presented to a scientist who has made an outstanding contribution to scientific research and has demonstrated an ability to communicate this research to scientists in other disciplines. The award includes a $5,000 honorarium, $5,000 grant to a young colleague of the recipient's choice and a bronze statue.

John P. McGovern Award

The John P. McGovern Science and Society Award is presented to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to science and society. The award consists of a medal and a $5,000 honorarium. The recipient presents the annual John P. McGovern Science and Society Lecture at Sigma Xi's annual meeting.

Walston Chubb Innovation Award

The Walston Chubb Award for Innovation is designed to honor and promote creativity among scientists and engineers. The award carries a $4,000 honorarium and an invitation to give a lecture at Sigma Xi's annual meeting.

Young Investigator Award

Sigma Xi's Young Investigator Award, which includes a certificate of recognition and $5,000 honorarium, was presented to its first recipient at the 1998 Annual Meeting.

Evan Ferguson Award

The Evan Ferguson Award has been presented annually since 2008 in recognition of outstanding service to Sigma Xi and its mission. The recipient is recognized with a plaque and a lifetime subscription to American Scientist.

Honorary Membership

Since 1983, noted science advocates, top science journalists and friends of research who have made important contributions to science but are not eligible for Sigma Xi membership, have been elected Honorary Members. Induction of these members is typically a highlight of the Society's annual meeting.

Bugliarello Prize

The George Bugliarello Prize honors an essay, review of research or analytical article published in American Scientist magazine. A prize of $5,000 is awarded biennially.

Monie Ferst Award

The Georgia Institute of Technology Chapter of Sigma Xi presents the Monie A. Ferst Award to individuals who promote research through teaching and supervising research students.