Sigma Xi Members Become AAAS Fellows

January 21, 2016

The following Sigma Xi members have been elected in the 2015 class of Fellows for the American Association for the Advancement of Science. The honor recognizes AAAS member contributions to innovation, education, and scientific leadership. The Fellows will be recognized for their contributions to science and technology on February 13 during the AAAS Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C. 

Section on Agriculture, Food, and Renewable Resources
Arthur G. Appel, Auburn University
Kathryn J. Boor, Cornell University
Michael Andrew Grusak, USDA-ARS/Baylor College of Medicine
Randall S. Prather, University of Missouri-Columbia
James M. Reecy, Iowa State University
Mark R. Riley, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Section on Anthropology
Bruce M. Latimer, Case Western Reserve University
Richard R. Wilk, Indiana University

Section on Astronomy
Timothy A. McKay, University of Michigan

Section on Atmospheric and Hydrospheric Science
William H. Hooke, American Meteorological Society
Brian K. Lamb, Washington State University
Jean Lynch-Stieglitz, Georgia Institute of Technology

Section on Biological Sciences
Julie A. Brill, The Hospital for Sick Children (Canada)
Emily A. Buchholtz, Wellesley College
Zachary F. Burton, Michigan State University
David O. Conover, Stony Brook University
Pamela K. Geyer, University of Iowa
Paul Stephen Keim, Northern Arizona University
David L. Lentz, University of Cincinnati
Maria C. Linder, California State University, Fullerton
Cynthia Casson Morton, Brigham and Women's Hospital
Steven A. Murawski, University of South Florida
Ellen K. Pikitch, Stony Brook University
Jan A. Randall, San Francisco State University
Temple F. Smith, Boston University
Wenyi Wei, Harvard Medical School
William E. Zamer, National Science Foundation
Janos Zempleni, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Section on Chemistry
Leonard W. Fine, Science Foundation Arizona
Edith M. Flanigen, UOP LLC, a Honeywell Company
Ingrid Fritsch, University of Arkansas
Amnon Kohen, University of Iowa
Jay A. LaVerne, University of Notre Dame
Dennis L. Lichtenberger, University of Arizona
Timothy E. Long, Virginia Tech
Walter Loveland, Oregon State University
Michael J. Maroney, University of Massachusetts Amherst
Joseph S. Merola, Virginia Tech
Paul H. Wine, Georgia Institute of Technology

Section on Dentistry and Oral Health Sciences
Francis L. Macrina, Virginia Commonwealth University

Section on Education
Lin Chambers, NASA
Edward E. Geary, Western Washington University
Watson M. Laetsch, University of California, Berkeley (Retired)
Rochelle D. Schwartz-Bloom, Duke University Medical Center

Section on Engineering
James Hiram Aylor, University of Virginia
Ian Baker, Dartmouth College
R. Byron Bird, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Marc Cahay, University of Cincinnati
Shu Chien, University of California, San Diego
Donald P. Gaver III, Tulane University
Vincent G. Harris, Northeastern University
Shankar Mahalingam, University of Alabama in Huntsville
Babatunde Ogunnaike, University of Delaware
Mark T. Swihart, University at Buffalo, SUNY
Andrew L. Zydney, Pennsylvania State University

Section on Geology & Geography
Annalisa Berta, San Diego State University
David P. Dethier, Williams College
Frank R. Ettensohn, University of Kentucky
Janet Franklin, Arizona State University
Paul L. Koch, University of California, Santa Cruz
Michael Mann, Pennsylvania State University

Section on History and Philosophy of Science
Sandra D. Mitchell, University of Pittsburgh

Section on Industrial Science & Technology
Shigeo (Ted) Oyama, Virginia Tech /University of Tokyo (Japan)

Section on Information, Computing, & Communication
Legand L. Burge III, Howard University
Bruce Randall Donald, Duke University

Section on Medical Sciences
Joey V. Barnett, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Robert E. Hurst, University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center
Mitchell Kronenberg, La Jolla Institute for Allergy and Immunology
E. Douglas Lewandowski, University of Illinois at Chicago/Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Discovery Institute
Asrar B. Malik, University of Illinois at Chicago
Robert J. Matusik, Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Mark E. Peeples, Nationwide Children's Hospital/Ohio State University

Section on Neuroscience
Edwin George (Ted) Abel III, University of Pennsylvania
Anna Wang Roe, Vanderbilt University/Zhejiang University (China)
Edward L. Stuenkel, University of Michigan

Section on Pharmaceutical Sciences
James T. Dalton, University of Michigan
Alan Paau, Guangda Cooperation International Technology Center (China)
Doodipala Samba Reddy, Texas A&M University

Section on Physics
Martin Greven, University of Minnesota
Adilson E. Motter, Northwestern University
Sekazi Kauze Mtingwa, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (Retired)/Triangle Science, Education & Economic Development, LLC
Beate Schmittmann, Iowa State University
Mark Trodden, University of Pennsylvania

Section on Psychology
Rebecca D. Burwell, Brown University
Laurence Baker Leonard, Purdue University
David G. Myers, Hope College
Kiran K. Soma, University of British Columbia (Canada)

Section on Social, Economic, & Political Sciences
Chloe E. Bird, RAND

Section on Statistics
Michael Paul Cohen, American Institutes for Research
Bruce A. Craig, Purdue University
Alan F. Karr, RTI International

Among the elected is Sigma Xi President Mark E. Peeples, who is working toward developing a vaccine that would protect infants from respiratory syncytial virus. The virus sends approximately 100,000 U.S. children to the hospital each year. 

More About Sigma Xi: Sigma Xi, The Scientific Research Honor Society is the world’s largest multidisciplinary honor society for scientists and engineers. Its mission is to enhance the health of the research enterprise, foster integrity in science and engineering, and promote the public understanding of science for the purpose of improving the human condition. Sigma Xi chapters can be found at colleges and universities, government laboratories, and industry research centers around the world. More than 200 Nobel Prize winners have been members. The Society is based in Research Triangle Park, North Carolina. On Twitter: @SigmaXiSociety