Sigma Xi Members Elected to the National Academy of Engineering

March 03, 2017

The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) elected 84 new members and 22 foreign members in February. Seventeen of the new members are also Sigma Xi members.

NAE membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature" and to "the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education."

The newly elected class will be inducted during a ceremony at the NAE’s Annual Meeting in Washington, DC, on October 8, 2017. 

A list of the Sigma Xi members who were elected, with their primary affiliations at the time of election and a brief statement of their principal engineering accomplishments, are below. To see the full list of new NAE members, see the academy's announcement.

  • Bose, Arindam, consultant in business organization, biotechnology, bioengineering, and biosimilars, AbiologicsB LLC, Pawcatuck, Conn. For innovations in the manufacture of biologics and service to the professional society organizations that represent the biopharmaceutical industry.

  • Daskin, Mark S., Clyde W. Johnson Collegiate Professor and chair, department of industrial and operations engineering, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor.  For leadership and creative contributions to location optimization and its application to industrial, service, and medical systems.

  • Ducharme, Eric H., general manager, advanced technology, GE Aviation, Cincinnati.  For advancing the state of the art in composite fan technology and developing industry-leading aircraft engine technologies.

  • Ewing, Rodney C., Frank Stanton Professor in Nuclear Security, Center for International Security and Cooperation, and professor, department of geological and environmental sciences, Stanford University, Stanford, Calif.  For studies on the long-term behavior of complex ceramic materials to assess their suitability for engineered nuclear waste sequestration.

  • Gunsel, Selda, general manager, products and quality, Shell Global Lubricants Supply Chain, Royal Dutch Shell PLC, Houston.  For leadership in developing and manufacturing advanced fuels and lubricants to meet growing global energy demand while reducing CO2 emissions.

  • Hammond, Paula Therese, David H. Koch Professor and department head, department of chemical engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge. For contributions to self-assembly of polyelectrolytes, colloids, and block copolymers at surfaces and interfaces for energy and health care applications.

  • Howell, Kathleen Connor, associate dean for engineering and Hsu Lo Distinguished Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics, Purdue University, West Lafayette, Ind.  For contributions in dynamical systems theory and invariant manifolds culminating in optimal interplanetary trajectories and the Interplanetary Superhighway.

  • Katsoulis, Dimitris E., senior research scientist, Dow Corning Corp., Midland, Mich.  For foundational contributions to the characterization and creation of novel silicone resins, gels and elastomers, and catalysis for organosilanes.

  • Lewis, Jennifer A., Hansjorg Wyss Professor of Biologically Inspired Engineering, Harvard University, Cambridge, Mass.  For development of materials and processes for 3-dimensional direct fabrication of multifunctional structures.

  • McCabe, Robert W., program director, division of chemical, bioengineering, environmental, and transport systems, National Science Foundation, Arlington, Va.  For enabling ultra-clean vehicles through conceptual and practical advances in catalytic systems for the abatement of automotive emissions.

  • Slocum Jr., Alexander H., professor, department of mechanical engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge.  For contributions to precision machine design and manufacturing across multiple industries and leadership in engineering education.

  • Solomon, Darlene Joy Spira, senior vice president and chief technology officer, Agilent Technologies, Santa Clara, Calif.  For leadership in the development of innovative nucleic acid and microfluidic products for the life science and molecular diagnostic industries.

  • Wilson, Blake S., co-director, Duke Hearing Center, Duke University Medical Center, Durham, N.C.  For engineering development of the cochlear implant that bestows hearing to individuals with profound deafness.

  • Yannas, Ioannis V., professor of polymer science and engineering, department of mechanical engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge.  For co-developing the first commercially reproducible artificial skin that facilitates new growth, saving the lives of thousands of burn victims.

  • Yarmush, Martin L., Paul and Mary Monroe Chair Distinguished Professor, biomedical engineering, Rutgers University, Piscataway, N.J.  For pioneering advances in cellular, tissue, and organ engineering and for leadership in applying metabolic engineering to human health.

  • Kikuchi, Noboru, president and chief operating officer, Toyota Central R&D Labs Inc., Aichi, Japan.  For contributions to theory and methods of computer-aided engineering and leadership in their applications in the automotive industry worldwide.

  • Vayenas, Constantinos G., professor, department of chemical engineering, University of Patras, Patras, Greece.  For fundamental studies on electrochemical modification of catalytic activity leading to the industrial design and use of new promoted catalysts.

More About Sigma Xi: Sigma Xi, The Scientific Research Honor Society is the world’s largest multidisciplinary honor society for scientists and engineers. Its mission is to enhance the health of the research enterprise, foster integrity in science and engineering, and promote the public understanding of science for the purpose of improving the human condition. Sigma Xi chapters can be found at colleges and universities, government laboratories, and industry research centers around the world. More than 200 Nobel Prize winners have been members. The Society is based in Research Triangle Park, North Carolina. On Twitter: @SigmaXiSociety