Sigma Xi Members Elected to the National Academy of Engineering

March 05, 2018

The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) elected 83 new members and 16 foreign members on February 7. Twelve Sigma Xi members are included in the 2018 class. 

Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature" and to "the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education."

Individuals in the newly elected class will be formally inducted during a ceremony at the NAE's annual meeting in Washington, DC, on September 30, 2018.  

Sigma Xi Members in the 2018 NAE Class

Aristidou, Aristos, director, biotechnology R&D, Cargill Inc., North Plymouth, Minnesota. For contributions to bioprocess and metabolic engineering for the commercial production of sustainable chemicals and plastics.

Gray, William G., research professor, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, and adjunct professor, department of civil and environmental engineering, University of Vermont, Burlington. For advances in understanding of the physics of flow and transport in porous media.

Haussler, David, distinguished professor, biomolecular engineering, University of California, Santa Cruz. For developments in computational learning theory and bioinformatics, including first assembly of the human genome, its analysis, and data sharing.

Langford III, John S., chairman and chief executive officer, Aurora Flight Sciences Corp., Manassas, Virginia. For application of autonomy and robotics to the design, development, production, and operation of advanced aircraft.

Malshe, Ajay P., founder, executive vice president, and chief technology officer, NanoMech Inc. and distinguished professor, Twenty-First Century Endowed Chair in Materials, Manufacturing and Integrated Systems, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, Arkansas.  For innovations in nanomanufacturing with impact in multiple industry sectors.

May, Gary S., chancellor, University of California, Davis. For contributions to semiconductor manufacturing research and for innovations in educational programs for underrepresented groups in engineering.

Meneveau, Charles, Louis M. Sardella Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore. For contributions to turbulence small-scale dynamics, large-eddy simulations, and wind farm fluid dynamics, and for leadership in the fluid dynamics community.

Mullins, Oliver C., Schlumberger Fellow, Reservoir Characterization Group, Schlumberger, Houston. For developing downhole fluid analysis of oil and gas reservoirs, and elucidating the structure of asphaltenes in crude oils.

Saltzman, W. Mark, Goizueta Foundation Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Chemical Engineering, Yale University, New Haven, Connecticut. For contributions in drug delivery, biomaterials, and tissue engineering that have led to improved patient treatments.

Su, Lisa, president and chief executive officer, Advanced Micro Devices Inc., Austin, Texas. For contributions to silicon-on-insulator technology and industry leadership.

Sigma Xi Members Who Are New Foreign Members

Eleftheriou, Evangelos S., IBM Fellow and senior manager, Cloud and Computing Infrastructure, Zürich Research Laboratory, IBM Corp., Zürich, Switzerland. For contributions to digital storage and nanopositioning technologies, as implemented in hard disk-, tape-, and phase-change memory storage systems.

Hao, Jiming, professor and dean, Institute of Environmental Science and Engineering, Tsinghua University, and director, Tsinghua-Toyota Research Center, Beijing, China. For leadership in the development and implementation of air pollution control theory, strategy, and technologies.

A complete list of the 2018 class is listed on the NAE website. 

More About Sigma Xi: Sigma Xi, The Scientific Research Honor Society is the world’s largest multidisciplinary honor society for scientists and engineers. Its mission is to enhance the health of the research enterprise, foster integrity in science and engineering, and promote the public understanding of science for the purpose of improving the human condition. Sigma Xi chapters can be found at colleges and universities, government laboratories, and industry research centers around the world. More than 200 Nobel Prize winners have been members. The Society is based in Research Triangle Park, North Carolina. On Twitter: @SigmaXiSociety