Sigma Xi Welcomes New President Kathy Lu

July 03, 2024


With this month's start of fiscal year 2025, Sigma Xi welcomes a new cohort of elected leaders, highlighted by Kathy Lu, PhD, who takes over the role of president from Marija Strojnik, PhD. Dr. Lu spent the first year of her three-year term serving in the president-elect role, preparing her vision for advancing the Society through the upcoming year, including the leading efforts for Sigma Xi's 3rd annual International Forum on Research Excellence (IFoRE), taking place November 14–17, 2024 in Washington, DC.
Additionally, 13 other newly elected or re-elected leaders will begin new three-year terms this month. The new leaders are listed below and include Daniel I. Rubenstein, who will begin his year as president-elect, in preparation for serving as the Society's president for fiscal year 2026 . Thank you to these members for volunteering their time, energy, and expertise to Sigma Xi's mission of enhancing the research enterprise, fostering integrity in research, and promoting the public understanding of science. 

To learn more about Dr. Lu and her upcoming plans for the Society, read her first letter to members, "Welcoming a New Phase at Sigma Xi," on the Sigma Xi Keyed In blog.

Fiscal Year 2025 Elected Officers



Kathy Lu
Affiliation: University of Alabama at Birmingham


Daniel I. Rubenstein
Affiliation: Princeton University

Director, Baccalaureate Colleges Constituency

Pamela K. Kerrigan
Affiliation: College of Mount Saint Vincent


Director, Canadian/International Constituency

Jennifer Patterson
Affiliation: Swiss Chapter


Director: Northwest Region

Allen Thomas
Affiliation: University of Nebraska at Kearney


Director: Southeast Region

Matthew Traum
Affiliation: University of Florida

Associate Director: North Central Region

Marc Seigar
Affiliation: University of Toledo


Associate Director: Northeast Region

Julie Ealy
Affiliation: Columbia University


Associate Director: Membership-at-Large Constituency

Samuel Williams
Affiliation: Membership-at-Large Constituency


Associate Director: Research and Doctoral Constituency

Allison Augustus-Wallace
Affiliation: Louisiana State University

Committee on Nominations: Mid-Atlantic Region Representative

Xuyi "Kevin" Yue
Affiliation: University of Delaware

Committee on Nominations: Northeast Region Representative

John M. de Figueiredo
Affiliation: Membership-at-large


Committee on Nominations: Area Groups, Industries, State and Federal Laboratories Constituency Representative

HollyAnn Harris
Affiliation: Omaha

Committee on Nominations: Comprehensive Colleges and Universities Constituency Representatives

Stephanie Bingham
Affiliation: Barry University

More About Sigma Xi: Sigma Xi, The Scientific Research Honor Society is the world’s largest multidisciplinary honor society for scientists and engineers. Its mission is to enhance the health of the research enterprise, foster integrity in science and engineering, and promote the public understanding of science for the purpose of improving the human condition. Sigma Xi chapters can be found at colleges and universities, government laboratories, and industry research centers around the world. More than 200 Nobel Prize winners have been members. The Society is based in Research Triangle Park, North Carolina. On Twitter: @SigmaXiSociety