News Archive

2013 NAS Elects 24 Sigma Xi Members

June 13, 2013

This April, Sigma Xi members were among the 84 new members and 21 foreign associates elected to the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) in recognition of their distinguished achievements in original research. This class was identical in size to the class of 2012 and continued the trend of increased female recognition.

The NAS is a non-profit society of scientists and engineers committed to the furtherance of science and technology and its use for the general welfare. NAS was established in 1863 by a congressional act of incorporation signed by President Lincoln that calls on the Academy to act as official liaison to the federal government, upon request, in any matter of science and technology.

Newly elected Sigma Xi members and their affiliations at the time of election are:

Ian T. Baldwin (SX 1985); director, department of molecular ecology, Max Planck Institute for Chemical Ecology, Jena, Germany

James A. Brown (SX 1967); professor, department of anthropology, Northwestern University, Evanston, Ill.

Michael E. Brown (SX 1987); Richard and Barbara Rosenberg Professor, division of geological and planetary sciences, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena

Mark A. Cane (SX 1975); G. Unger Vetlesen Professor of Earth and Climate Sciences, department of earth and environmental sciences, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory of Columbia University, Palisades, N.Y.

Xuemei Chen (SX 2003); investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute and the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation, and professor, department of botany and plant sciences, University of California, Riverside

Robert W. Field (SX 1972); Haslam and Dewey Professor of Chemistry, department of chemistry, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge

Susan T. Fiske (SX 1979); Eugene Higgins Professor of Psychology, department of psychology, Princeton University, Princeton, N.J.

Joseph S. Francisco (SX 1990); associate dean of research and graduate education, College of Science, and William E. Moore Distinguished Professor, departments of chemistry and of earth and atmospheric sciences, Purdue University, West Lafayette, Ind.

Katherine H. Freeman (SX 1984); professor, department of geosciences, Pennsylvania State University, University Park

Martin Gruebele (SX 1989); James R. Eiszner Professor of Chemistry, department of chemistry, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Naomi J. Halas (SX 1983); Stanley C. Moore Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science and director, Laboratory for Nanophotonics, Rice University, Houston

Sharon Hammes-Schiffer (SX 1988); professor of chemistry, department of chemistry, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Juris Hartmanis (SX 1954); Walter R. Read Professor of Computer Science and Engineering, Emeritus, department of computer science, Cornell University, Ithaca, N.Y.

Nancy Knowlton (SX 1977); Sant Chair in Marine Science, department of invertebrate zoology, National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.

Terry A. Plank (SX 1993); professor, department of earth and environmental sciences, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory of Columbia University, Palisades, N.Y.

John H. Seinfeld (SX 1968); Louis E. Nohl Professor, department of chemical engineering, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena

Osamu Shimomura (SX 1963); senior scientist, Marine Biological Laboratory, Falmouth, Mass. (Japan)

Robert H. Singer (SX 1966); co-director, Gruss Lipper Biophotonics Center, and professor and co-chair, department of anatomy and structural biology, Albert Einstein College of Medicine of Yeshiva University, Bronx, N.Y.

Joan E. Strassmann (SX 1983); professor, department of biology, Washington University, St. Louis

Galen D. Stucky (SX 2004); professor, departments of chemistry and biochemistry and of materials, University of California, Santa Barbara

David Vanderbilt (SX 1976); Board of Governors Professor of Physics, department of physics and astronomy, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, Piscataway

David A. Vogan, Jr. (SX 1974); professor of mathematics, department of mathematics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge

Fred M. Winston (SX 1974); John Emory Andrus Professor of Genetics, department of genetics, Harvard Medical School, Boston

Wei Yang (SX 2001); senior investigator and section chief, Laboratory of Molecular Biology, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, Md.