News Archive

Winners Named in the Student Research Conference

November 14, 2016


Approximately 115 high school, undergraduate, and graduate students attended the 2016 Sigma Xi Student Research Conference in Atlanta, Georgia. They participated in a networking session, keynote presentations,and professional development sessions. They also competed in a competition on November 12 in which they presented a poster about their research project to professional researchers. Sigma Xi members volunteered to judge the presentations. 

The following students were selected as the winners in their division and research category. They receive a medal, $130 in honor of Sigma Xi's 130th year, and nominations to join Sigma Xi with their first year of membership dues waived.

High School Division Winners

Behavioral and Social Sciences: Shambhavi Badi, Plano East Senior High School

Cell Biology and Biochemistry: Ryan Burczak, Clayton A. Bouton High School

Chemistry: Juliana Lu-Yang, Montgomery Blair High School

Ecology and Evolutionary Biology: Penelope Eltringham, Islands High School

Engineering: Rahul Lall, Auburn High School

Geosciences: Emily Cross, Hammarskjold High School

Physiology and Immunology: Rahul Krishnaswamy, Forsyth Country Day School

Undergraduate Division Winners 

Behavioral and Social Sciences: William Anderson, Georgia State University

Cell Biology, Biochemistry, Physiology, and Immunology: 

Jacqueline Turner, University of Colorado at Denver, Anschutz Medical Campus

Chemistry: Sayuri Pacheco, California State University-NorthBridge

Ecology and Evolutionary Biology: Daniel Herrera, Augustana College

Engineering: Jasmin Alsaied, North Carolina State University

Environmental Science: John Nichols, Hampden-Sydney College

Math and Computer Sciences: Austen Kelly, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Physics and Astronomy: Adam Kunesh, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Physiology and Immunology: Alberto Lopez, University of California-Irvine

Graduate Division Winners

Agricultural, Soil, and Natural Resources: Kayla Eason, The University of Georgia

Behavioral and Social Sciences: Ryan Holden, Southern Illinois University Carbondale

Cell Biology and Biochemistry: Anh Ngo, Oregon Health and Science University

Chemistry: Vedanjali Gogineni, University of Mississippi

Ecology and Evolutionary Biology: Maria Daniela Rivarola, University of Tennessee

Engineering: Grace McClellan, Tennessee Technological University

Physics and Astronomy: Afua Dankwa, Oakland University

Physiology and Immunology: Tiffany Batarseh, University of California, Irvine

Student's Choice Award

Students who competed in the competition voted to recognize the most outstanding poster presentations by their peers. This Student's Choice Award is sponsored by the District of Columbia Sigma Xi Chapter. The first place winner received $200 and the second place winner received $100.

1st Place: Amara Thind, Undergraduate Division, University of California, Irvine
2nd Place:  Brittany Bailey, High School Division, Islands High School

Executive Director's Special Award

Sigma Xi Executive Director and CEO John Nemeth selected one student for his special award for excellence in science and science communication. The recipient received a certificate.

2016 Winner: Shambhavi Badi, Plano East Senior High School

All presenting participants of the Student Research Conference who were not named division winners have been nominated to join Sigma Xi. 

See individual student award photos on Flickr. High school student pictures are not included.