News Archive

Deadline for Award Nominations Extended to December 1

October 01, 2018

The Sigma Xi Committee on Awards invites nominations by December 1 for Sigma Xi’s 2019–2020 prizes and awards program, which recognizes major achievements in science, engineering, and science communication. Most awards include an honorarium and an invitation to present a lecture at the Sigma Xi Annual Meeting. To submit a nomination for the following honors, see

  • The William Procter Prize for Scientific Achievement is presented to a scientist who made an outstanding contribution to scientific research and demonstrated an ability to communicate this research to scientists in other disciplines.

  • The John P. McGovern Science and Society Award is for an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to science and society.

  • The Walston Chubb Award for Innovation honors and promotes creativity among scientists and engineers.

  • The Young Investigator Award recognizes excellence in research by an active member of Sigma Xi within 10 years of his or her highest earned degree.

  • The Evan Ferguson Award for Service to the Society recognizes outstanding service to the Society and its mission.

  • Honorary Membership is given to distinguished individuals not otherwise eligible for membership in Sigma Xi and who have served science, or the Society, in a matter that deserves recognition.