News Archive

Five Key Ingredients for Successful Society Leadership

April 13, 2020

Frank Dane

Frank Dane, director of Sigma Xi's Mid-Atlantic Region, offers a list of five key ingredients for successful Society leadership.

  1. Do you want experience as a leader?
  2. Can you envision a broader pathway of excellence in scientific and engineering research?
  3. Do you seek to understand and ameliorate science policy?
  4. Will you advocate for equitable access on behalf of all researchers and scientists?
  5. Are you willing to serve?

Sigma Xi ,The Scientific Research Honor Society invites all members to nominate someone they believe has what it takes to contribute to a vision and plan that fosters and supports our Society as an organization that encompasses all members of the research community.

You can help guide the future of the Society by nominating someone, including yourself, for a position in Sigma Xi leadership.

Vacancies for the July 1, 2021–June 30, 2024, term:

Directors representing:

  • Baccalaureate Colleges Constituency Group
  • Canadian/International Constituency Group
  • Northwest Region
  • Southeast Region

Associate Directors representing:

  • North Central Region
  • Southwest Region
  • Membership at Large Constituency Group
  • Research & Doctoral Universities Constituency Group

Committee on Nominations representing:

  • Mid-Atlantic Region
  • Northeast Region
  • Area Groups, Industries, State & Federal Labs Constituency Group
  • Comprehensive Colleges & Universities Constituency Group

Active, full members of Sigma Xi are eligible for office. An inactive member may become active at any time through payment of current dues.

Please visit  to learn more about the duties and responsibilities for each position.   

You can view our Strategic Plan and Annual Report to learn more about what your Society is doing.  

If you are unsure about which region and constituency your chapter is affiliated with, please contact

The deadline to submit nominations is June 30, 2020.  Nominations should be sent to

The election will be held immediately following the 121st Annual Meeting and Student Research Conference