News Archive

Meet the President-Elect Candidates

August 06, 2020

Active members are encouraged to vote in the Sigma Xi elections starting on November 9 to determine who will become president-elect, directors, associate directors, and members of the Committee on Nominations. These members will receive an email from on November 9 that contains a ballot and instructions on how to vote online.

Richard Boudreault and Nicholas A. Peppas are the president-elect candidates. 

Richard Boudreault

Richard Boudreault

A repeat entrepreneur with 12 successful STEM corporations. He is also adj. professor of chemical engineering at École Polytechnique, of Earth & Environmental Sciences at University of Waterloo. He serves as governor of the First Nations University. He is fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, Hon. Fellow of the Royal Canadian Geographic Society, UK’s IoP, Canadian Academy of Engineers, Intl Academy of Astronautics, CMOS, WASS and CASI. He is serving his second term as director of Sigma Xi’s Canadian/International Constituency, Board and Executive Committee.

Read More 

Nicholas A. Peppas

Nicholas Peppas

Peppas, of The University of Texas at Austin, is a researcher in biomaterials, drug delivery, and chemical/biomedical engineering with 137,000 citations (H=173). Inducted in 1973, he was the Purdue University Chapter president and awarded the Sigma Xi Monie A. Ferst Award. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering, National Academy of Medicine, National Academy of Inventors, and American Academy of Arts and Sciences, plus European, Chinese, Canadian, French, Spanish, and Greek academies. He is deputy editor of Science Advances and past president of groups such as the Society for Biomaterials.

Read More

The president-elect designee will serve a three-year term: Sigma Xi president-elect from July 1, 2021, to June 30, 2022; president of Sigma Xi from July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2023; and past president from July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2024.