News Archive

Sigma Xi Election Results

February 18, 2021

Nicholas Peppas

Members of Sigma Xi, The Scientific Research Honor Society elected their peers to leadership roles in an online election held November 9 - 22, 2020. Sigma Xi thanks all members who voted or volunteered to run as candidates. Many of the newly elected volunteer leaders will begin their term on July 1, 2021. Nicholas A. Peppas was elected to serve a three-year term comprised of a year each as Sigma Xi president-elect, president, and past-president.

President-elect designee Peppas, a professor at The University of Texas at Austin, is a researcher in biomaterials, drug delivery, and chemical/biomedical engineering with 137,000 citations (H=173). Inducted into Sigma Xi in 1973, he was the Purdue University Chapter president and awarded the Sigma Xi Monie A. Ferst Award. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering, National Academy of Medicine, National Academy of Inventors, and American Academy of Arts and Sciences, plus European, Chinese, Canadian, French, Spanish, and Greek academies. He is deputy editor of Science Advances and past president of groups such as the Society for Biomaterials.

Other newly elected directors, associate directors, and representatives are listed below with their Sigma Xi chapter affiliations. Directors and associate directors serve three-year terms, starting July 1, 2021. Committee on Nominations representatives serve three-year terms, starting immediately after the election.


Committee on Nominations

Northeast Region Representative
Julie B. Ealy
Columbia University Chapter

Area Groups, Industries, State & Federal Laboratories Constituency Representative
Bruce A. Fowler
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Chapter

Comprehensive Colleges & Universities Constituency Representative
Andrea Ashley-Oyewole
Prairie View A&M University Chapter


Baccalaureate Colleges Constituency
Pamela K. Kerrigan
College of Mount Saint Vincent Chapter

Canadian/International Constituency
Jennifer Patterson
Swiss Chapter

Northwest Region
HollyAnn Harris
Omaha Chapter

Southeast Region
Dana A. Baum
Saint Louis University Chapter

Associate Director

North Central Region
Kelly E. Crowe
University of Cincinnati Chapter

Southwest Region Alli M. Antar
Rice University-Texas Medical Center Chapter

Membership-at-Large Constituency
Heather A. Arnett

Associate Director
Research & Doctoral Universities Constituency
Peizhen Kathy Lu
Virginia Tech Chapter

Committee on Nominations

Mid-Atlantic Region Representative
Francis C. Dane
Radford University Chapter