News Archive

Announcing the 2021 Sigma Xi Award Winners

August 24, 2021

Sigma Xi, The Scientific Research Honor Society is proud to announce its 2021 Award Winners. Presented annually by the Society's Prizes and Awards program, the awards recognize exemplary achievement in science and engineering. Recipients are presented with the awards at the Annual Meeting and Student Research Conference, where most will be plenary speakers. This year's conference will be held virtually, November 4–7, 2021. Congratulations to this year’s winners!

Gold Key Award

Shirley M. Malcom
American Association for the Advancement of Science

For extraordinary contributions to her profession and for fostering critical innovations to enhance the health of the research enterprise, to cultivate integrity in research, and to promote the public understanding of science for the purpose of improving the human condition.

William Procter Prize for Scientific Achievement

Baruch Fischhoff
Baruch Fischhoff
Carnegie Mellon University

For blazing new ground in risk perception, risk communication, and decision science research.

John P. McGovern Science and Society Award

Dr. Rory Cooper_Pitt_Smile

Rory A. Cooper
University of Pittsburgh

For changing the lives of people with disabilities through the founding of Rehabilitation Engineering and bringing newly separated veterans into the world of STEM academia seamlessly.

Walston Chubb Award for Innovation


James J. Collins
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

For innovative work in synthetic biology, which has transformed biotechnology and led to novel classes of therapeutics, diagnostics, and vaccines, including ones that have impacted the COVID-19 pandemic.

Young Investigator Award

David Olson-YIA

David Olson
U.S. Army Research Laboratory

For integrating molecular/cellular neurobiology with the development of chemical tools/probes and being at the cutting edge of neuropsychiatric disease drug discovery.

Evan Ferguson Award for Service to the Society


Meg Murphy and Jasmine Shah
Sigma Xi Staff

For outstanding service to Sigma Xi and its mission.