Announcing the 2021 Cohort of Sigma Xi Fellows

August 18, 2021


Sigma Xi is proud to announce the 2021 cohort of Sigma Xi Fellows. They will be recognized during the Annual Meeting and Student Research Conference, taking place virtually, November 4–7, 2021.

The Fellow of Sigma Xi distinction is awarded on a competitive basis to members who have been recognized by their peers. Fellows must be an active (dues-paying), full member for the last 10 years continuously, or a life member, with distinguished service to Sigma Xi and outstanding contributions to the scientific enterprise. 

Learn how to nominate a member to be among the next cohort of Sigma Xi Fellows. 

2021 Fellows

Donald Beitz, Ph.D., Iowa State University

For significant contributions to Iowa State University's research mission and its chapter of Sigma Xi as secretary and treasurer since 2015.

Stuart Cooper, Ph.D., Ohio State University

For distinguished accomplishments, exceptional contributions to engineering and science, and dedicated service to the causes of Sigma Xi.

Peter Denning, Ph.D., Naval Postgraduate School

For distinguished accomplishments and service to Sigma Xi though the Science of Computing column in American Scientist, and to the scientific enterprise through research, teaching, and curricular innovation.

Nancy Elwess, Ph.D., State University of New York at Plattsburgh

For distinguished achievements and contributions to science education, outreach, teaching, and scientific mentorship in genetics and biological science.

Beverly Hartline, Ph.D., Montana Technological University

For distinguished accomplishments and tireless efforts to build research capacity; champion and enhance diversity, science education, and outreach; and promote mentorship and honor in Science.

Maung Htoo, Ph.D., Vassar Institute

For distinguished accomplishments; salient membership, energy, and insight; and promotion of STEM education at all levels, including the broader scientific community in Dutchess County, NY.

Carolina Ilie, Ph.D., State University of New York at Oswego

For notable accomplishments and contributions to Sigma Xi and the Chapter at Oswego earning the National Sigma Xi Chapter Program of Excellence Award in 2013 and 2018, and the Sigma-Xi Chapter Program Award for distinguished performance for "Science Today Lecture on Women in STEM."

Loretta Johnson, Kansas State University

For distinguished accomplishments and impressive professional record which exemplifies the spirit of scientific research that advances our understanding of the natural world and promotes an improved human condition.

Henry Petroski, Ph.D., Duke University

For distinguished accomplishments and for engaging histories of bridges in the pages of American Scientist.

Gadi Reddy, Ph.D., United States Department of Agriculture

For distinguished accomplishments, dedication to fostering the next generation of scientific researchers, and dedication to the Sigma Xi community through volunteering and participating in the national conference and programs.

Allen Sanborn, Ph.D., Barry University

For distinguished accomplishments and unwavering service to Sigma Xi, excellence in research, dedication to mentoring future generations, and outstanding contributions to advancing science and scientific literacy.

Marija Strojnik, Ph.D., Centro de Investigaciones en Optica

For distinguished accomplishments and contributions to infrared astronomy and planet detection; for teaching and curricular innovations; and for mentorship and leadership in promoting and assisting women and minoritized communities.

Joanne Tillotson, Ph.D., State University of New York at Purchase

For distinguished accomplishments and commitment to promoting scientific excellence through dedication to cancer research, expanding approaches to teaching, and cultivating the next generations with a longstanding devotion to GIAR.

Jeffrey Toney, Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology

For notable accomplishments, being a strong proponent of scientific achievement, being an advocate for Sigma Xi's mission, and advancing efforts in science and human rights.

John Trefny, Ph.D., Colorado School of Mines

For distinguished accomplishments and contributions to teaching and research in areas of STEM education and over a half-century of service to Sigma Xi.


More About Sigma Xi: Sigma Xi, The Scientific Research Honor Society is the world’s largest multidisciplinary honor society for scientists and engineers. Its mission is to enhance the health of the research enterprise, foster integrity in science and engineering, and promote the public understanding of science for the purpose of improving the human condition. Sigma Xi chapters can be found at colleges and universities, government laboratories, and industry research centers around the world. More than 200 Nobel Prize winners have been members. The Society is based in Research Triangle Park, North Carolina. On Twitter: @SigmaXiSociety