Sigma Xi 2021 Election Results

December 02, 2021


Members of Sigma Xi, The Scientific Research Honor Society elected their peers to leadership roles in an online election held November 8–21, 2021. Sigma Xi thanks all members who voted or volunteered to run as candidates.

Marija Strojnik was the winner in the presidential election. On July 1, 2022, she will begin a three-year term that will consist of one year each as president-elect, president, and immediate past-president. A distinguished professor at the Optical Research Institute in Leon, Mexico, Strojnik was the first woman to earn PhD and master's degrees in Optical Sciences from the Optical Sciences Center at the University of Arizona. She also holds master's and bachelor's degrees in Physics from Arizona State University as well as a master's degree from the Engineering Executive Program at the University of California at Los Angeles. Strojnik has been a member
of Sigma Xi since 1987 and was recently recognized in the 2021 cohort of Sigma Xi Fellows. Read more about her plans for leading the Society in her candidate statement and biography.

All newly elected leaders are listed below with their Sigma Xi chapter affiliations. President, treasurer, directors, and associate directors will serve three-year terms beginning July 1, 2022. Committee on Nominations representatives will serve three-year terms beginning immediately.


Marija Strojnik
Affiliation: Membership-at-large


David W. Baker
Affiliation: Colorado School of Mines

Director, Southwest Region

Laura Montier
Affiliation: Rice University-Texas Medical Center

Director, North Central Region

Brad Swanson
Affiliation: Central Michigan University

Director: Comprehensive Colleges and Universities Constituency Group

Tieli Wang 
Affiliation: California State University Dominguez Hills

Director: Area Groups, Industry, State and Federal Laboratories Constituency Group

Mary Bliss
Affiliation: Tri-Cities Washington

Associate Director: Baccalaureate Colleges Constituency Group

Joseph Reczek
Affiliation: Denison University

Associate Director: Canadian/International Constituency Group

Kelly Monteleone
Affiliation: Calgary Chapter

Associate Director: Mid-Atlantic Region

René Fuanta
Affiliation: East Stroudsburg University of Pennsylvania

Associate Director: Northeast Region

Theodora Pinou
Affiliation: Western Connecticut State University

Associate Director: Research and Doctoral University Constituency Group

Allison C. Augustus-Wallace
Affiliation: Louisiana State University

Committee on Nominations: Membership-at-large

Ngozi Franca Okoye
Affiliation: Membership-at-large

Committee on Nominations: Northwest Region

Surojit Gupta
Affiliation: University of North Dakota

Committee on Nominations: Research and Doctoral Universities Constituency Group

Thomas M. Rosseel 
Affiliation: University of Tennessee

Committee on Nominations: Southeast Region

Audrey Chang 
Affiliation: Research Triangle Park Chapter

To nominate candidates for the 2022 elections, please visit the 2022 Elections — Call for Nominations page.

More About Sigma Xi: Sigma Xi, The Scientific Research Honor Society is the world’s largest multidisciplinary honor society for scientists and engineers. Its mission is to enhance the health of the research enterprise, foster integrity in science and engineering, and promote the public understanding of science for the purpose of improving the human condition. Sigma Xi chapters can be found at colleges and universities, government laboratories, and industry research centers around the world. More than 200 Nobel Prize winners have been members. The Society is based in Research Triangle Park, North Carolina. On Twitter: @SigmaXiSociety