Announcing the Inaugural Cohort of Sigma Xi Fellows

August 03, 2020

Fellows 2020

Sigma Xi congratulates the inaugural cohort of Sigma Xi Fellows. They will be recognized during the virtual Annual Meeting and Student Research Conference, November 5–8, 2020. 

The Fellow of Sigma Xi distinction is awarded on a competitive basis to members who have been recognized by their peers. Fellows must be an active (dues-paying), full member for the last 10 years continuously, or a life member, with distinguished service to Sigma Xi and outstanding contributions to the scientific enterprise. 

The Fellow distinction will be awarded to a new class of members annually. 

Learn how to nominate a member to be among the next cohort of Sigma Xi Fellows. 

2020 Fellows

James F. Baur, Science Solutions Inc.
For exceptional dedication to the accomplishment of the missions of Sigma Xi and the vitality of both its chapters and the society as a whole

Henry A. Buchtel, University of Michigan
For distinguished contributions to the University of Michigan Chapter and the North Central Region of Sigma Xi, the Scientific Research Honor Society

Scott F. Burns, Portland State University
For distinguished contributions to geology, soil science, terroir and wines, Sigma Xi, community organizations, teaching, mentoring, lifelong learning, and colleagues worldwide

Lisabeth DiLalla, Southern Illinois University School of Medicine
For distinguished contributions to the field of psychology and the broader scientific endeavor achieved through dedication to research, teaching and mentoring, and service

Edward L. Fink, Temple University
For distinguished scholarly contributions to the field of communication science and distinguished service to Sigma Xi chapters at the University of Maryland and Temple University

Millicent E. Goldschmidt, University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston
For distinguished scholarship, service to science and society, and for paving the road to women in STEM 

Tee L. Guidotti, International Consultant
For distinguished service to Sigma Xi  as president and member and for helping assure public health and safety worldwide through teaching, research, and ethical consulting

Linda K. Meadows, The Ohio State University 
For showcasing Sigma Xi as a bright light and noble voice for scientific research in many venues during an unparalleled service progression as chapter president, region director, society president and executive director

M. Patricia Morse, University of Washington
For distinguished contributions to research in the field of invertebrate zoology, STEM education, and scientific society leadership including as president of Sigma Xi and the Society for Integrative and Comparative Biology

Ampalavanar Nanthakumar, State University of New York–Osewego
For distinguished contributions to Sigma Xi State University of New York at Oswego Chapter and remarkable research results in statistics and astrophysics

Donna J. Nelson, University of Oklahoma
For distinguished service to Sigma Xi, other scientific organizations, and the public; and for contributions to understanding additions to alkenes in research and in teaching

John C. Nemeth, Education and Research Consulting
For distinguished, ethical contributions to the scientific enterprise through university teaching and research, environmental consulting, community service, and nonprofit administration including as Sigma Xi CEO

Mark E. Peeples, Nationwide Children's Hospital/ The Ohio State University
For distinguished, outstanding scientific research achievement, particularly with respiratory syncytial virus infections in children, and a record of teaching excellence and tireless work on behalf of Sigma Xi

Joseph Rachlin, Lehman College
For distinguished contributions and achievements in the biological sciences, science education, and scientific mentorship

Subrata Saha, University of Washington
For distinguished contributions in biomedical engineering and bioethics; and for founding the Southern Biomedical Engineering Conference and the International Conference on Ethics in Biology, Engineering, and Medicine

Paul Sanberg, University of South Florida
For pioneering research and bioengineering of innovative cell therapies for neurodegenerative conditions, and national leadership in advancing academic innovation

Gene P. Siegal, University of Alabama at Birmingham
For distinguished contributions as a physician scientist and for exemplary scholarship as a teacher, mentor, author, reviewer, and editor and as a leader in academic medicine

Allen Taflove, Northwestern University
For pioneering work on finite-difference time-domain (FDTD) computational solutions of Maxwell's equations of electrodynamics and devoted service to Sigma Xi

Virginia L. Trimble, University of California, Irvine
For distinguished contributions to the field of astrophysics, exemplary scholarship as an educator and mentor, and for her dedication to Sigma Xi

Sarah E. Wyatt, Ohio University
For distinguished contributions in research, teaching, and outreach and for her leadership of the Ohio University Chapter and commitment to science literacy through Science Café

More About Sigma Xi: Sigma Xi, The Scientific Research Honor Society is the world’s largest multidisciplinary honor society for scientists and engineers. Its mission is to enhance the health of the research enterprise, foster integrity in science and engineering, and promote the public understanding of science for the purpose of improving the human condition. Sigma Xi chapters can be found at colleges and universities, government laboratories, and industry research centers around the world. More than 200 Nobel Prize winners have been members. The Society is based in Research Triangle Park, North Carolina. On Twitter: @SigmaXiSociety